Day 56 - from one police station to the next - Unfinished Business - CycleBlaze

June 25, 2023

Day 56 - from one police station to the next

I was up early, partly to evade the seminarian, who I was sure would reappear. I didn't want to start my day with such an irritating character. Alas, I noticed the first flat tyre of my trip so my mind turned to finding the culprit - a piece of tyre wire that matched the pinprick hole in the tube. I was soon on my way. First stop was a supermarket, where I loaded with water and ate a handful of green pancakes stuffed with coconut. Coconut was to play an important part in my day.

But let me start with a comfort index, on which I placed two black dots, to show you what a touring cyclist faces in the tropics. At the lower temperature - about 30C , everyone feels discomfort. Now, increase the temperature just a few degrees, at the same relative humidity, and you hit the zone of "distinct stress". But, the average person is not riding a loaded bike. In fact, the average male seems to stand around suckling on a fag.

The comfort index from The World Weather Guide. The two black dots plot the temperature and relative humidity in much of Indonesia at midday and 3 pm
Heart 3 Comment 0

It was a fine ride to Kefamenanu through very nice scenery and on a decent road with reasonable traffic. Two things made it hard - the undulating terrain and the roadside garbage, something I find very hard to deal with and something that doesn't get into guidebooks. 

Finally, a mosque - Masjid al Mujahidin. I'm sure they'd take me - I have a beard and can ride a motorcycle.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Women in their Sunday finest
Heart 4 Comment 0

My compass told me that there was a shortcut through Kefa. There was and it took me through a bustling market, where I saw a mural that appealed.

Heart 5 Comment 0

I also managed a quality break in a restaurant where I got a good meal, drank a lot of tea and caught up on my journal. I learned also that the internet might be very slow in Indonesia.

Heart 3 Comment 0

The break was perfect preparation for the afternoon as I headed towards Soe, 85 km away.  If I thought that the 35 km to Kefa was hard then I was having a lend of myself. For 55 km in the afternoon I seemed to be in 1st or 14th gear, grinding up hills of unimaginable gradient or screaming down them. I left Kefa  knowing that Soe was probably out of range and that there was no accommodation in between. It didn't phase me. I was happy to bank the km and let other things fall into place.

Heart 3 Comment 0

At one point I heard coconuts crashing to the ground and could just about see a fellow in the crown. I stopped to watch and quickly became the centre of attention. The locals wanted to share their custom - all good will.

Our coconut harvester descending
Heart 4 Comment 0
Tricky without a straw
Heart 4 Comment 0
You use another piece cut from the coconut as a spoon, to scrape out the soft flesh.
Heart 5 Comment 0
The coconut crowd
Heart 6 Comment 0

I was soon screaming downhill again and crossed a river. I knew what that meant.

Heart 4 Comment 0

A little further on I stopped to photograph one of the brightly painted houses. Again, this turned into a photofest as everyone wanted their time - an advantage of smartphones. First it was digital photography enabling one to show a photo. Now, many can take a photo.

They go for colour here
Heart 5 Comment 0

I found myself in the position, half way up a huge hill, of having not much food and nowhere to stay. I saw a "shop" and grabbed what I could - fruit and biscuits, thinking that I might be having a night doing it rough - plastic, sleeping mat, sleeping sheet and mossie net  somewhere. I asked about accommodation and a fellow indicated 2 km - city. It couldn't be Soe, still 20 km. It was Niki Niki! This spurred me on and I found a reasonably sized town. But it had no accommodation. I cycled another km to the police station where I got a choice of thee rooms. I even got a stretcherbed but no WiFi.  They need to lift their game!

With a couple of the officers
Heart 4 Comment 1
Graham SmithIan this Tour d’ Police Stations reminds me of when my son Joe and I cycled around Taiwan. We discovered that many cop shops there are also set up with bicycle maintenance gear. It’s part of Taiwan’s concerted effort to encourage cycle tourism. We didn’t think to seek accommodation behind the thin blue line though.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago

I was keen to get out of soaking wet clothes and have a wash. With that done, I found dinner and then came back to do the blog. The internet was too slow. I tried reading but was too tired. That was a big day.

Today's ride: 90 km (56 miles)
Total: 4,633 km (2,877 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 0