Day 57 - Soe finally, Kupang within reach and a hat-trick - Unfinished Business - CycleBlaze

June 27, 2023

Day 57 - Soe finally, Kupang within reach and a hat-trick

Isn't it strange, when touring, how you can think that things will never change. I was convinced that the hills would continue to the outskirts of Kupang, with a final descent to the sea. It wasnt the hills so much that bothered me; it was the lack of accommodation. Thus, my aim today was the police station in Takiri.

I started climbing as soon as I cycled from the police compound at Niki Niki. 

My little room in Niki Niki Police Station.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Why is it impossible to photograph hills?
Heart 4 Comment 0

It was hard going but the scenery compensated. That's been true since I left Dili.

Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0

I pushed hard and two hours later reached Soe. My only stop was for a huge hand of bananas and a pomello, essentially a giant grapefruit. I could not get "Wish you were here" out of my mind. " Soe, Soe you think you can tell; Heaven from hell? Blue skies from pain?" NO, I CAN'T! But I got there, somehow.

It was still a long slug uphill from here to the city.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Great to photograph a roadkill. Not sure which rat it is. I've seen a few snakes but they were a mess. The half-life of a roadkill is short!
Heart 2 Comment 0

Sitting high on a ridge makes Soe a hard town to decipher. Was I near the centre? I went a bit further and it seemed to fizzle out so I stopped for morning tea - nasi goring and a few cups of tea. The ride had knocked me about. 

There's interesting stuff around Soe, some of which boggles the mind.

Heart 4 Comment 0
Poor photo, I know. But look at the woman on the right walking uphill. She's got a shopping bag in each hand. The basket on her head contains coconuts and various fruits.
Heart 3 Comment 0
I think there's a motor scooter underneath. I thought I was half-good cycling to the airport with four panniers and a bike box!
Heart 4 Comment 0

As it turned out, much of Soe was ahead of me and all uphill. Finally, I could stare down. But I didn't want to go down to that river and then up again. 

Heart 3 Comment 0

But down I went. At the bottom, as I started to climb - still part of the descent, I saw a sign: "House of prayers for all nations, 6 km". It pointed straight up a remarkably steep road. They don't give a toss about cyclists here! I wasn't going to climb for 6 km to pray for a flat road! I continued towards Takiri.

By chance, my prayer went by WiFi, or something similar, and got a remarkably quick response. By the time I reached the river I had done over 40 km. 

Imagine this with water up to the bridge!
Heart 4 Comment 0

The road didn't go up but followed the river. I cycled through a tropical paradise - bananas, coconuts and papaya, and reached Takiri two hours after leaving Soe, having done 68 km for the day. i saw the odd piece of art along the way.

If I make it to Bali I'll chase this person for my first tatt!
Heart 4 Comment 0

A church offered solace in Takiri  - away from the road and the crowds and with a shaded bench. I was supposed to spend the night in Takiri but now Oelamasi, 32 km away, beckoned. This prompted me to look for accommodation. There's a courthouse, no hotels and no police station in a sizeable town. Can that be right?

With another search I discovered a 500 m climb on the way. Fine. I thought. After a good rest, a good drink and eating half a hand of bananas and a dozen sweet biscuits I got on my way. 

No one died. Someone just gobbed out betel nut.
Heart 3 Comment 0
A gorgeous animal. I think of them as Balinese cows; perhaps they are.
Heart 3 Comment 1
Ian DouglasClose enough: Bali cattle (bos javanicus domesticus), Balinese cattle, domestic banteng or Bali banteng. Uni Qld have a project in TL to help small cattle holders move from subsistence to semi-commercial (Googling short pointy horned cattle Timor).
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Some quick thinking children pushed me up the top of these roadworks. 20%? Sheer goodwill - they refused a tip.
Heart 5 Comment 0

As I got towards the top, stalls of pumpkins appeared.

Heart 2 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltMy sister in Tennessee grows those squash!

http://clara.vrx.palo-alto.ca.us/works/pumpkin/Colors/tan/yuxijiangbinggua/
Reply to this comment
10 months ago

And then I reached the top.

You see boring communication towers. I see the top of a 500 m climb that I was pleased to knock over easily.
Heart 3 Comment 0

The descent was tricky due to the amount of traffic, the position of the sun and the number of switchbacks. I t dropped me into the raging Campiong with giant banyans and roadside stalls. I didn't stop, even for a photo. I needed to get to Oelamasi with the sun still high. 

But Oelamasi wasn't enough. Enquiries indicated that there's no accommodation so I pushed on to a police station 22 km further- to Oesao.  I found a massive establishment- headquarters of the traffic police where, again, I got a room without a light. But they did give me dinner. That's a hat-trick of accommodation behind the thin blue line!

Today's ride: 112 km (70 miles)
Total: 4,745 km (2,947 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0