Day 58 - A room with a view - Unfinished Business - CycleBlaze

June 27, 2023

Day 58 - A room with a view

I had done my 26 km by 8 am. It's about the same distance to Woden and back, but I didn't stop for a coffee and the conditions were somewhat different.

Sunrise at the headquarters of the traffic police.
Heart 4 Comment 0

I was up early  - the one hour time difference to Timor Leste has shifted the light to the morning. I gorged on what I had - bananas, pomello and sweet biscuits and got on my way. My destination was a guesthouse, Lavalon, on the water at Kupang. Booking.com and other scumbag sites, indicated no vacancy. But backpackers love it so it seemed worth a try.

This makes it look a doddle. I ride the line, wary of the drop off the road.
Heart 3 Comment 0
This makes it look a bit harder. You must ignore what's behind and concentrate on that in front.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Entering Kupang it looks rather plush.
Heart 4 Comment 0

I found Lavalon easily and, to my surprise, I am the only guest. Edwin, the owner, made me coffee and a pancake and then showed me to a room. Hugh, the cyclist I met near Darwin, told me that Edwin's struggling due to a cyclone and then COVID. Hugh, an IT professional, fixed his website. When I enquired about the price of the room Edwin replied 150,000. That's A$15. I paid $12 for a squeaky bunk in a dorm in Dili.  Also, I had money in the bank from leaning on the coppers for three consecutive nights. Thus, I said "No" to Edwin and instead  offered $25. He's delighted.

So, if you're in the vicinity and need a place to stay and a fountain of information, contact him directly through whatsapp 62 8123770533

Or his website http://www.lavalontouristinfo.com/lavalon/rote.htm

To the name "Lavalon". Edwin had an Australian girlfriend, Lisa, whose father was a famous surfer. Lisa lived in Avalon, near where I grew up, and hence the name of the guesthouse. That's pining for you!

Edwin in typical pose
Heart 3 Comment 0

I went for an afternoon's wander. Here's a few pictures from nearby.

A fine mural
Heart 4 Comment 1
Joel KrewazAll very epic, as expected from Ian.
I'm liking the street art. Looking forward to your tatoo.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
A typical street scene
Heart 4 Comment 0
Typical chaos
Heart 5 Comment 0
"Raise me up with a sincere heart." I needed that near Soe!
Heart 4 Comment 0
Behind the thick blue line
Heart 3 Comment 0

I took Edwin's advice and investigated the local night-market for dinner. I did what any touring cyclist would do and ordered enough for three. But Asia always throws a grenade in your direction. Sitting on the ground nearby was a fellow with horribly twisted, thin limbs and a big smile. Money or food, I  thought. Money, I decided and enough for a meal.

I had rice with five king prawns, a plate of vegetables, a squid cooked in a tomato sauce, and lumps of tempeh and tofu. I had cycled 26 km!
Heart 4 Comment 0

Today's ride: 26 km (16 miles)
Total: 4,771 km (2,963 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 8
Florence SofieldWe are following you on the blog & Facebook Ian, with some comments from Cora. It brings back memories of my years living & travelling in Solomon Islands and Sri Lanka! Good to know you are okay so far! Safe travels!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Graham SmithIan I do like the concept of ‘Wodens’ as a unit of distance cycled. My units are ‘Tuggers’ for distance and ‘Mt Ainslies’ for elevation. They work as well as any imperial or metric units.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Ian WallisTo Graham SmithGraham- it's crazy but I found in Australia that I'd say that I've only got a Woden to go. And then I can imagine all of the km markes like Barry Drive 2. Somehow it gets you there.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Ian WallisTo Florence SofieldFlorence- good hearing from you. Knowing that people are following drives me on. Having a couple of days in Kupang is terrific. The ultimate test, Flores, awaits.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Joel KrewazIan, what an epic journey. You have also discovered the Thin Blue Line Hilton chain of motels. They make sense and not what the average bear would have thought of before heading off.
I too work in "commutes", which are a shade under 30km. Altitude is in "Cook Hills", which, with a trip "to and from and around the lake" are about 500m.
The food looks very vegetarian friendly and no doubt spicy. Hopefully with enough kick to get you up 20% grades. Success and health for the days ahead.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Ian WallisTo Joel KrewazJoel, good hearing from you again. Unfortunately, there are no altitudinal equivalents for Timor. I'm thinking of Brown Mountains but then you don't have the heat and humidity. But there are other things too: blasting car horns, two stroke engines, dirty diesels and a thousand "hello misters, what's your name". Then to cap it off, slow internet that makes the blog difficult. I'm approaching the starting line for the biggest test- Flores. Beautiful scenery but as hilly as it gets! And I believe the ferry from Kupang arrives at 3am. Figure that out when I arrive.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Graham SmithIan a very important financial question. Will you be reaching another cycleable island before midnight on 30 June?

With End-Of-Financial-Year looming, being able to make tax deductible charitable donations before the 1 July chimes in, is probably front of mind for numerous people reading your blog.

I’m poised ready at the keyboard ready to donate again the second your front wheel hits the shore of island number 3.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Ian WallisTo Graham SmithGraham - the simple answer is yes. But I'm not in a place with simple answers. Boats leave for Flores on Thursdays and Sundays - usually. What time does it leave? Well, who knows? Assuming that I catch the ferry, which takes 12-15 hours, I should arrive in Larantuka anywhere between midnight and 5 am on the 30th.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago