Day 59 - Kupang - Unfinished Business - CycleBlaze

June 28, 2023

Day 59 - Kupang

I can't describe how good it was to sleep in a bed and to have a shower. Also, there was no to need get up early and rush away. Instead, I was up by 7, Edwin made me a coffee and I started reading Shirley Shackleton's "The Circle of Silence", given to me by Michele, in Balibo. As I read, Edwin brought me more coffee and a savoury omelette. 

Edwin and I. There's any number of newspaper clippings of his former career as an actor.
Heart 3 Comment 0

It was 10 am when I jumped the No. 10 bemo to the museum. Music blasts in bemos. I thought of my father who wouldn't have tolerated it for a second.

The view from a bemo on route 10. I can't explain the fluffy toys. Pseudo-airbags, perhaps.
Heart 3 Comment 0

I got to the museum and found it closed for the Eid al-Adha holiday. But one complicating thing about countries like this is that places are never quite closed. The doors remain slightly ajar.

The closed museum
Heart 3 Comment 0
The jaw end of a blue whale skeleton
Heart 3 Comment 0

I enjoyed the display on the 1 m tall Homo floresiensis and an even older relative - 700,000 years! The full skeleton of a blue whale was also worth seeing. 

 Of course, there's no such thing as a free lunch but I'm good at bargaining hard with people holding the keys. He wanted 50,000 but settled for 10,000. 

I left, crossed the road and jumped on a bemo 10. Ten minutes later we arrived back at the museum. Of course! These things drive a convoluted loop! I stayed put and eventually reached my destination. The street scene appealed.

Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0

I got back to Lavalon mid-afternoon and read more and drank more coffee before venturing to the night-market for dinner. I chose a fish and had it turned into fish soup of terrific flavor- kaffir lime, lemongrass, tamarind, ginger, garlic, spring onion and chili were some of the things I could identify. 

There's some fabulously colourful fish.
Heart 5 Comment 0

I washed it down with a drink made from Buah Naga or dragonfruit that looked spectacular.

Heart 3 Comment 2
Graham SmithIan that drink is a remarkably similar colour to one of those dresses on those mannequins which look as if they survived a bomb blast.

Is there an indigo dye factory in Kupang?
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Ian WallisTo Graham SmithGraham - I suspect that the indigo foundation have snuck in here! The dragonfruit from which the drink was made was bright red. Fluorescent lighting probably comes in to play.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago

This may sound like the laziest of days - it was! But I'll make up for it tomorrow with a ferry to Flores that leaves at an uncertain time, takes 12-15 hours and drops me in Larantuka between midnight and 3 am. 

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0