Day 127 - a tricky ride to Dumai - Unfinished Business - CycleBlaze

September 4, 2023

Day 127 - a tricky ride to Dumai

There seems to be nothing easy in Indonesia. I'm trying to find out something very simple: what time does the ferry leave Dumai, traveling towards Batam? Daisy found the times published in a newspaper! I walked to the port and confirmed the details. I think that whether or not a country has timetables is a pretty good measure of the place.

Cycling from my abode last night to Dumai was also not easy, but that was partly my fault. It was a rather strange place I was staying because I had no idea how to contact an employee. I assumed that there was no breakfast, and so I hooked into biscuits and bananas - all I had.

That's me early morning September 4, 2023.
Heart 5 Comment 2
Martin StainesI have wondered why you had to cycle all the way to Dumai to then take a long ferry ride ‘back’ to Batam Island? Is there no nearer port?
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Ian WallisMartin, other ports are well to the south. I wasn't going this far not to 1) cross the Equator, and 2) have an armchair cyclist say that I didn't cycle to Singapore. Well, I didn't but I got pretty close! Ian
Reply to this comment
7 months ago

I don't know why, but I couldn't make a photo for nuts today. The light was horrible, but it usually is in the tropics. 

I was away by 7.30, but not before taking a photo from my room. 

They had the volume turned up at the swiftlet house.
Heart 4 Comment 0

The going was easy and most often boring; I was among plantations. The sea was so close that I could smell it but I never did see it! The limiting factor in getting anywhere was the road surface. Sometimes it was very good and sometimes rather poor, with every state in between. But one thing is guaranteed in Indonesia: you will never get a smooth entry to, or exit from, a bridge.

Heart 4 Comment 0
I turned left here
Heart 4 Comment 1
John GrantThe left turn looks compulsory Wal !
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Another bridge!
Heart 4 Comment 0

I knocked out a fast 40 km before a quick stop. It was roughly the point where I had just 100 km to Dumai. It occurred to me that I hadn't passed a substantial town or seen an ATM. But, they're everywhere in Indonesia so I had nothing to worry about.

Heart 4 Comment 0

I cycled as normal, stopping occasionally to take a photo that records my journey.

Rice is back on the menu
Heart 5 Comment 0
There were many rivers, all now lined with plantations. Imagine what it was once like.
Heart 4 Comment 0
The first nodding Jenny I have seen on this ride.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
An interesting Chinese Cemetery. Keep in mind that the Strait of Malacca is a couple of km to the east. For centuries, it was a melting pot of seafarers.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Chinese temples too.
Heart 5 Comment 0
The boathouse
Heart 6 Comment 2
John GrantThat's VERY good. Thanks Ian.
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Ian WallisTo John GrantJohn, thanks for more amusing comments. Looking forward to seeing you at the airport. Ian
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
It was pleasant enough cycling, especially when the road was smooth. But all I could see was human foolishness.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Any guesses?
Heart 5 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltMaybe parrot's beak?

https://www.inaturalist.org/taxa/260753-Heliconia-psittacorum
Reply to this comment
8 months ago

Of course, there was roadkill. I saw a substantial turtle but was not in a good place to stop. But next to each other were an Asian water monitor and some homework for Bill.

Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltSpent way too long looking at snakes of Indonesia photos looking for a matching pattern... without any luck.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Ian WallisBill, I knew you would! Thanks so much for your contribution and interest. Ian
Reply to this comment
7 months ago

I was at my anticipated halfway point when I saw a BRI Mini ATM sign. BRI failed me last night but otherwise have seemed reliable. But, they failed me again here and when I asked where I might find an ATM, consensus was Dumai. And here's my mistake: I should have left a little stash of rp for this situation. I have foreign currencies but they're largely useless here. I realised that I had 72 km to do without food and with 1.5 L of water. 

The way I was going to do it was with easy spinning and minimal stops. I planned to get to 100 in one go. I did it easily and took the odd photo.

Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 7 Comment 1
Martin StainesA night blooming waterlily
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
It seemed like a tiny waterway but there's a collective of tugs.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Cooling chooks with a hose; transporting them at night is a better idea.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Water everywhere!
Heart 4 Comment 0

My next aim was 125 km which, again, I did reasonably easily. I stopped and drank my last water. I thought there must be an ATM and a fellow pointed to the security entry to the industrial area. They let me in and I got money. Two nasi gorengs, a few mugs of very sweet tea and a litre of water, were the perfect fuel to power me into town. Alas, I had cycled the first 125 km on a few bananas, a few ancient biscuits and 3 L of water. 

Dumai offered the usual lanes and things; even a development.

Heart 4 Comment 1
Ian DouglasOh, so you’re into Dumai! A very understated entry.
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
I'm always on the lookout for a good door smeer. I think they've used it in all the hotels I've stayed at.
Heart 5 Comment 3
Martin StainesSmeer: Dutch for lubricate
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
John GrantI was thinking of cockroaches getting trapped under a moving door Ian.
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Ian WallisTo John GrantJohn, I believe that the Dutch extract it from roaches. Ian
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Bicycle of the day
Heart 5 Comment 3
John GrantThat front fork arrangement is beautiful Wal !
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Ian DouglasI love the pannier rack mounts. My carbon fibre racer lacks mounting lugs so might be a good workaround.
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Ian WallisTo Ian DouglasIan, I'd start with bamboo. On a different note, thanks again for your contribution. I look forward to catching up soon.
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Heart 5 Comment 0

I easily found a hotel - one fitting the end of my ride and took the appropriate photos.

Heart 6 Comment 2
Martin StainesWhy the empty bottles upside down?
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Ian WallisTo Martin StainesThe bottles are so feeble that they are hard to put into the cage when empty. They make them pointed for my convenience.
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 7 Comment 3
Martin StainesCongratulations Ian for an outstanding adventure, be it a very testing one!! Full respect for sticking to it no matter how hard. Congratulations!!
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Ian WallisTo Martin StainesThanks Martin and to all those who have made similar comments. I was all over this ride physically. I had no trouble with huge distances, even in the tropics. The main problem was chafing, through being wet all day. I tolerated it and concentrated on riding smoothly, but I was often sore, especially from 100 km+. The ride in Australia was easy in all respects, other than spending too many nights in caravan parks, for internet. Indonesia was a different game and nothing to do with cycling, traffic or even some rough roads. It was garbage, noise, smoking and monotonous food and a few other factors - no ferry timetables, contradictory signage, etc - all things that grate on your mind. I cannot emphasize enough, the continuous search for shade, the changing of glasses, the dripping sweat, just to look at a screen. The tropical sun sits above you all day.
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
John GrantWell done ! It's fabulous to see those photos Wal !
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0

I continued my walk from the port, taking a few photos on my way.

I'll cycle through this tomorrow
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Stir fried vegetables!!!!!!
Heart 5 Comment 0
Vendor of the day
Heart 6 Comment 0

And then I took still more getting back to the hotel. I must have walked 6 km.

Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 2
Ian DouglasWhere does the lash come in?
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Ian WallisTo Ian DouglasIan, I'm sure that they'll gladly flog you if you venture to Dumai.
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Heart 4 Comment 0
Clearly a roundabout
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Indonesia loves this stuff.
Heart 4 Comment 0

Tomorrow I'll spend eight hours on ferries getting to Batam Island. I'll spend the night there before a short ferry ride to Singapore. I'm almost there!

Today's ride: 145 km (90 miles)
Total: 9,570 km (5,943 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 10
Graham SmithWell done Ian.
Great day’s ride to complete the epic Indonesian sector of the journey.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Vitus SitarAll honor to you, Ian!! Great performance in this difficult country. Entertaining blog and what will I read from now on at my work ?? Did you think about that ?
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Robin BrownHow many more kilometres on the wheels? Should you ride around Singapore a few times to make it 10,000? You are a champion and indigo foundation and its partner communities we work with are so, so grateful for the more than $20,000 you have raised.
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Ian WallisTo Robin BrownThanks Robin, much appreciated. I won't be doing much cycling in Singapore. I tried to organize an event but failed to muster any interest. I think that I'll grab a bike box, put it on my loaded bike (as in Darwin) and cycle to the airport. I'll then pack it and put it into a special bicycle locker so it's all ready for our flight on Sunday night. After a few days in Sydney, I'm going to cycle slowly to Canberra (3 days) to ease back in to normal life. I'll be a few rp short of 10,000 km.
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Ian WallisTo Vitus SitarThanks Vitus, much appreciated from someone who knows about this stuff. I'll keep the blog going until I am home in Canberra. I'll do a post outlining my intentions. Hopefully, I can disrupt your work for a few more days. Ian
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Ian WallisTo Graham SmithThanks Graham for all of your comments, help and generous donations to indigo. Looking forward to catching up. Ian
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Jackie LaycockHuge thanks Ian, for a mammoth effort and for beguiling my work hours with your stories and photos. We will celebrate officially when you arrive in Singapore and will continue to share your stories on our facebook until you are safely home in Canberra.
When will you be in Sydney?
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Jackie LaycockHuge thanks Ian, for a mammoth effort and for beguiling my work hours with your stories and photos. We will celebrate officially when you arrive in Singapore and will continue to share your stories on our facebook until you are safely home in Canberra.
When will you be in Sydney?
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Ian DouglasIs it like the Tour de France where if you crash out within a prescribed distance you are deemed to have finished?
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Ian WallisJackie, thanks for all of your support. I'll be in Sydney early Monday morning and will stay for 2 or 3 days.
Reply to this comment
7 months ago