Day 128 - I know how to make it tough - Unfinished Business - CycleBlaze

September 5, 2023

Day 128 - I know how to make it tough

Time was always going to be tight this morning. Breakfast starts at 6 am and I need to be at the ferry at 6.30. Thus. I planned to get up early enough to have a shower and pack my bike, which is outside near security, with three of four panniers left in place. I would then go to breakfast and gorge myself for 20 minutes, before a quick sprint through potholes to the ferry.

All went to plan. As expected, I woke before the alarm - 20 minutes before - and turned it off. I had a leisurely shower and then looked at my watch. It was 6.15, not 5.15! I had managed to set the wrong time on my alarm! I grabbed my things, gave the room a quick scan, bolted downstairs, checked out, loaded my bike and rode 2 km to the ferry, arriving at 6.30. I bought a ticket, wheeled my bike on board, which was manually lowered into a hold, and slumped into seat 126. I may have missed the ferry, if not for my exploratory trip to the port last night. I guess that you make your own luck.

The Batam fast ferry; it needs to be because Batam is a long way - 163 nm.
Heart 5 Comment 0
My loaded bike was lowered to this fellow, who stumbled but held the catch.
Heart 6 Comment 1
Ian DouglasBuy ticket, board boat; it sounds suspiciously straitforward!
Reply to this comment
7 months ago

It's a gloomy tropical day, as always. I can do nothing but relax and stare across the cabin and out through a hazy window to a monochrome seascape. Black islands and a brownish sea race past below a bright grey sky. 

Heart 4 Comment 0

We just made our first stop. All the vendors raced on - of course they did. I scored a nasi goreng, but it wasn't until a few minutes later that I realised I missed the prize. Others had purchased little tubs of durian. There's things that I will miss about this place; the smell of durian in a confined space is one.

More islands stuck their heads out of the gloom; more ports came and went with frightening efficiency.

Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0

I spent much of the trip getting my diary up to date using the blog and various notes. I found time also to investigate ferries to Singapore, of which there's a couple of options, with different departure and arrival points. 

Apart from the highlight of catching up with Cora, a journalist and photographer from The Straits Times will be there. They suggested I get the ferry to Tanah Merah. I began the process of booking online and discovered that I needed to give 72 hours notice of my bicycle. I rushed off a message and got a quick reply; all is good for tomorrow.  After my experiences of online visas in Indonesia, I feared this process and was certain that it would fail. I found, however, a seamless booking system and so, at 9.20 am tomorrow, I will jump on the final boat of my trip for the short journey from Batam to Singapore. I might add that it costs roughly the same as today’s eight hour blast.

Anything I found on the web suggested that no boats go all the way from Dumai to Batam and so I expected to change. That didn't happen, and right on 3 pm we docked at Sekupang, Batam. It took a little time to get my bike from the hold. I then grabbed some water and nasty kJ for the cycle to Batam Central, from where my boat leaves tomorrow. 

Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0

I got the impression on the ride that Batam was an Indonesia-Singapore hybrid, with a strong lean towards the former. The roads are better than I'm used to, while the signage is good if you have binoculars and 180 degree vision. Later, while walking around, I realised that I was on a footpath and not about to plunge into a sewer. And now, I remember blasting downhill towards the port and setting off some red light cameras - very Singaporean. I had just enough time to wave. 

Heart 3 Comment 0

So, let me continue with this Batam-Singapore contrast.

Very Indonesian; it makes me feel homesick.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Very Indonesian. Rome wasn't built in a day but this place may well have been.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Rather Singaporean
Heart 5 Comment 0
More Indonesian
Heart 5 Comment 0
More Singaporean
Heart 5 Comment 0
Classic Indonesia. If you want WELCOME then light up the WEL. Otherwise, do away with the WEL and just have COME.
Heart 6 Comment 0
More Roman stuff, built in a day.
Heart 5 Comment 0

I'll leave a few for the final exam.

Heart 5 Comment 0
Is this a church-mosque hybrid?
Heart 6 Comment 2
John GrantPerhaps the architect was hedging their bets and wanted it to stand if there was a change of religious principles ?
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Ian DouglasWorked in Constantinople for Hagia Sophia.
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0

And from my hotel room  - wallpaper.

I'm up there on the 7th if you're nearby.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0

But, the absolute crackers, again from my hotel room, are the power points. Unlike any I have seen in Indonesia, they have an earth. You won't be able to insert the standard two-pin Indonesian plug unless you poke something into the earth socket. They supply a suitable metal object.

Be careful where you poke it!
Heart 4 Comment 1
John GrantA plastic dummy pin probably wouldn't be durable for a commercial situation like a hotel.
Reply to this comment
7 months ago

I headed out for food to curb my ferocious hunger. Maccas. Burger King, Dominoes and Greasy Chicken from the South, were just around the corner and so I headed in the opposite direction. I spotted a place with no room to move and got myself a fish soup, plate of vegetables, rice and mango juice. It was all very tasty.

Heart 4 Comment 0

I then worked the streets looking for interesting images while blowing off rupiah. 

I've enjoyed the street art - probably not Singaporean.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
A durian ice-cream
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
This says a lot to me - large double doors and the essential motorcycle ramp.
Heart 5 Comment 0
I've had a bit and made a bit on this trip.
Heart 5 Comment 0

Tomorrow Singapore! I'll enjoy my first drink in a long while. Have I even had one in Indonesia other than Coffee Kartika?

Today's ride: 33 km (20 miles)
Total: 9,603 km (5,963 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 3
John GrantI was thinking that you'd mentioned "beer" a bit lately Wal. I'll make sure I've got something in the fridge.
G'day Cora !
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Ian DouglasWe discovered there’s a function room at the Dairy Flat brewery: Graham and I had a craft beer there while a Canberran showed a movie of his Tour Divide feat from Banff to Mexico. You can probably get AI to do in-betweening to turn a selection of stills into a motion picture.
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Ian WallisTo Ian DouglasIan, thanks for all of your contributions. I might turn my stills over to you and sit back over a craft beer. Ian
Reply to this comment
7 months ago