Shametu River Lodge - Rest day - Kim and Glory - It's in My Soul - CycleBlaze

June 10, 2022

Shametu River Lodge - Rest day

Hippo hunting

Just about six months ago I made the decision to break my lease on my brand new apartment home within two months of moving in.  It was a nightmare situation.  In addition, I'd been out of Arizona for awhile and I wasn't reconnecting with the people I use to know.  I felt a bit alone.  So, I made the decision to to 100 per cent nomadic with bike travel.  I have no regrets.

The couple that run the place here have been very nice, especially the wife.  She offered to take me into town with her as long as I could handle all the questions from her parents as they’d be going too.  It was a fun trip and after we got back, I went over and paid them a visit at their cottage.  They are here for three months to get out of the South African cold.

Today, I arranged to meet up with Peter, a cyclist who started cycling late in life and has now been on the road 8 years!  I told him the owner  was going to take me somewhere where I could maybe see hippos and then I’d walk back.  Asked him if he wanted to go and he did.  She dropped us off at the neighboring lodge and introduced us to that owner so he wouldn't wonder who these people are hanging out.  Next thing I know he's saying, "Quick, go hop on that boat"  and just like that we got a free tour of the river and Popa Falls.  Talk about lucky!  What a treat!  He said he'd worry about how we'd back later as we couldn't walk back in the dark.  Since we went right by our property, we asked the skipper to drop us off and he did.  Perfect.  I called the owner of the lodge again to thank him.

Peter and I
Heart 1 Comment 0
Fisherman in the distance casting mosquito nets to catch fish
Heart 0 Comment 0
Beautiful
Heart 1 Comment 0
Chow time!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bingo! Learned all about crocodiles and how they kill their prey!
Heart 2 Comment 0
Smile
Heart 0 Comment 0
Hippo sighting. This is the best I got.
Heart 2 Comment 0
I am now a bird watcher, ha ha
Heart 1 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltWhite-fronted bee eater.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/White-fronted_bee-eater
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kim JohnsonTo Bill ShaneyfeltI thought that was what a friend had told me, but I was too lazy to go back and find the FB post. Thanks for the update. Can always count on you to identify it. :)
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
See what I mean?!
Heart 1 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltMight be a pied kingfisher

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pied_kingfisher
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Another hippo, actually a little better shot
Heart 0 Comment 0
Popa Falls, which really is just a bunch of rapids. I suppose for Africa, this is impressive, but not when you're from the Pacific Northwest
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0