Camp Ndurukoro to Divundu (Shametu River Lodge) - Kim and Glory - It's in My Soul - CycleBlaze

June 9, 2022

Camp Ndurukoro to Divundu (Shametu River Lodge)

I actually saw a sunrise. A bit eerie with all the mist/fog
Heart 1 Comment 0
Just as colorful as the sunsets
Heart 1 Comment 0

Believe it or not, it's been very cold during the night for the last week.  My fingers were frozen this morning even though is was 43F.  I rode the kilometer back to the main road with Christian, but we are heading opposite directions so said our goodbyes.  

I stayed on the gravel road for 10 miles before cutting back over to the "tar" (paved) road.  I was able to cruise along for quite awhile before the headwind picked up, but not nearly as bad as the last few days.  It's part of why I have not cared about the rest days.  Since the headwind has been such an issue, ever day I take off is a day closer to getting better riding conditions.  And besides, I'm all about enjoying this journey and I have really enjoyed being on the river.

Oh no, not again!
Heart 0 Comment 0
The corrugated roads do not make for nice riding. Bumpity, bump, bump, bump!
Heart 1 Comment 2
Mike AylingYes, ridden a few of these in my time!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kim JohnsonTo Mike AylingHa ha, not easy to forget although you want to!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
There are a lot of road jarring bumps happening here, but the scenery is nice.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I eventually moved off the road on to the path paralleling it. Much smoother riding.
Heart 0 Comment 0
"Share the road"
Heart 0 Comment 0
Found a little store on my way out this morning and was able to purchase a cold drink and a different brand of lemon cookies....ligh and airy!
Heart 0 Comment 0
At first I thought she was carrying chickens on her head, but it was the plastic bag flapping.
Heart 1 Comment 0
See the baby strapped on her back? This is a very common sight here and how all the babies are carried. No strollers here!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Not all rest breaks go quite as planned! All the trees and bushes around here have thorns. I got attacked when pulling over so just unbuckled my helmet and ducked out of it. To my amusement the branch/thorns suspended my helmet in mid air. Although it looks like it's resting on a branch, it's just dangling.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Some of the typical villages/huts I've been seeing
Heart 0 Comment 0
Imagine, this is your home....
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is becoming a very common theme these days!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Of course this is the dirt road I need to go down to get to the lodge. The cows beat me to it, but I gave them a big head start!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Boys and their cars/trucks. The ingenuity amazes me!
Heart 2 Comment 0
Not what I want to see on the home stretch, or ever really. Deep sand. Had to push my bike the last kilometer which was very hard work!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Because the owners from the previous lodge gave me this referral and had some history with these owners, I got a good deal on this little, and I do mean little room. Works for me. I'm out of the cold.
Heart 0 Comment 0
They had a nice garden and liked the scarecrows
Heart 0 Comment 0
Popa Falls in the distance on the right. Really, it's an area of rapids.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 39 miles (63 km)
Total: 2,934 miles (4,722 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0