Yuma, AZ to San Luis Rio Colorado, Mexico - Kim and Glory - It's in My Soul - CycleBlaze

January 2, 2022

Yuma, AZ to San Luis Rio Colorado, Mexico

Hola Mexico!

For now, all I can say is I have been biking the few weeks from Phoenix, Arizona, down to Tuscon, then backtracked a bit and headed west towards California.  I had hoped to fly to SE Asia, but with this new Omicron variant, I opted to head down a ride that's been on my bucket list, the Baja Peninsula.  I will focus on starting this journal with where I'm at and add some info about me and a recap of my Arizona start at a later date.

So here we go!  Crossed into Mexico today at the tiny crossing south of Yuma, Arizona.  I am literally, a few blocks from the border wall in the town of San Luis Rio Colorado.  I was able to meet up with a cyclist I became acquainted with from a bicycle touring group on Facebook.  He will be heading down the Baja as well, but not leaving for at least a week.  He was, however, kind enough to say he'd cycle with me and cross the border with me.  Really appreciated that and had fun chatting.  Was great to have someone keep an eye on my bike while I sorted out official paperwork.

Cabbage anyone?
Heart 12 Comment 1
Colleen ArrudaCabbage rolls or Cabbage rows?? 😆
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
The wall with the Mexican flag flying just beyond
Heart 2 Comment 1
Colleen ArrudaWell, it really is a great pic hehe, I'll never be there, so thanks for sharing this ❤
Reply to this comment
2 years ago


I mistakenly opted to take pictures of myself in front of the massive border wall that had a row of coiled, razor sharp, barbed wired at about a six foot height from the ground.  Not sure why it wasn't on top of the wall.  At any rate, I was already on federal property which is a "no picture zone."  I know this because security came over and told me I couldn't take pictures.  He said he saw what we were doing so wasn't going to make me delete them, but please don't take any more.  Oops!

Goofing off. Soon I will be on the other side!
Heart 6 Comment 3
Colleen ArrudaOf the wall, you'll be on the other side of the wall, not like "the OTHER side" lmao
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Kim JohnsonTo Colleen Arrudagf, you are out of control! lol
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Colleen ArrudaHahaha! I'm so excited for you to be sharing this amazing journey 💗
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

Wheeled our way to the security checkpoint and the guy wanted to inspect both my front panniers.  I unloaded them and unbuckled them, but he really only made a half hearted attempt to see what was inside.  That was a pretty pointless inspection.  But, he wasn't done yet.  Also wanted to inspect my pack rack/duffle bag on the back rack.  He kind of looked, put his hand in and ran it along an edge.  Done. Then he decided to inspect my handlebar bag.  I moved one thing and he was done.  At that point, he decided he didn't need to look in my back panniers.  Thank goodness, that's where all the contraband was hidden!  Ha ha, totally kidding.  Just glad I didn't have to make those accessible to him.

I knew I needed a FMM card, aka tourist visa, but security just waved me on through after the "search" but gave no further instructions.  First stop, first door on the right, the INM door.  Obtain and fill out FMM card.  Take card into the Banjerctio door where you pay for the card.  About $30 US dollars.  He surprisingly, didn't want to take my American dollars and said debit card would be faster.  He got a kick out of it when I saw him punch in a "6" as the first number on my card and I quickly asked "how much."  It was 638 pesos!  Once I had proof I paid, returned to the INM door, where the immigration asked how many days I wanted, 180?  Okay.  Sure.  Why not?  I mean, I know I'm slow, but not THAT slow!  They have been cracking down on how many days they are giving people so not everyone is automatically guaranteed 180 days anymore.  Don't laugh, but I had paperclipped six pages in my passport with a note saying, "blank page, do not use."  She understood that my passport was almost full, so found a page that wasn't fully stamped and stamped there.   Whew!  I don't have but 7 blank pages left and my passport doesn't expire for another 18 months.  Saving those blank pages for let's say, Namibia, Africa, just in case and yes, they require 6 blank pages.  

I had a couple of hotels picked out and after riding about a block, turned left on the main drag...through the stoplights that were not working at all.  Nothing like weaseling your way into a bunch of traffic right off the bat.  I knew it had good reviews.  A bit more expensive, but I just went with it as I needed "easy" and a feeling of security , and in the interest of time.  Tom still had to cross back over and cycle home .  We got a referral for a good sandwich place so headed there before saying our goodbyes.  I had to pay a little more to have a ground floor room, but it was worth it not to have to lug my bike and bags up to the second floor via stairs.

Tom and I in the lobby of my hotel. (Hotel San Antonio, not Texas!)
Heart 2 Comment 0

All settled in for the night.  My bed is a bit on the hard side, but the place is clean and comfortable, and breakfast is included.  That should be interesting.  

My cheery hotel room with yellow and orange walks. I think they are saying, “Chase the sun”
Heart 4 Comment 1
Colleen ArrudaI think so too 😉
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

Today's ride: 540 miles (869 km)
Total: 1,054 miles (1,696 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 14
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Cinda WeisgerberGreat job getting started.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Colleen ArrudaWow!!! My ass is sore just reading this hahaha, I'm a long distance walker...as bicycle seats are not my friends 😅
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Kim JohnsonTo Colleen ArrudaIf you consistently cycle, the seat becomes your friend. You just need to break your butt in!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Kim JohnsonTo Cinda Weisgerber Thanks Cinda. Better late than never!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago