Matemwe to Stone Town - Kim and Glory - It's in My Soul - CycleBlaze

September 22, 2022

Matemwe to Stone Town

2300+ miles (3,680 kms) later, that’s pretty much a wrap on cycling in Africa and she sent me out with a little reminder of who’s the boss!!  Didn’t leave until noon — only 30 miles to cover, but numerous short steep hills at the beginning and two required walking.  ⛰ I could barely push up the second one, but a big truck could barely make it up so I felt better 😂.  

Switched  directions heading  south back to Stone Town and blasted with an almost 20 km per hour head wind!  It kept me cooler, but, it is in the low 80’s and since it dumped rain for a few minutes not long before I left, it’s humid. 🥵. And finally, I lost my nice shoulder the last 6 miles and it was a traffic nightmare requiring me to concentrate and pay attention.  Only had to swear a couple of times. 😂

Will shower soon, head down to the vendors at the waterfront and enjoy my last night on Zanzibar.  Tomorrow, ferry to Dar es Salaam and trying to get the box situation sorted.  I don’t think tomorrow’s biking is going to be at all enjoyable so I decided to take my “finishing” photo this morning by the beautiful flowering tree.  What an adventure it’s been!

6 African countries. Amazing adventures. Challenges and fears overcome. Thanks Africa. Hope to see you again one day!
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 30 miles (48 km)
Total: 4,077 miles (6,561 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Kathleen JonesWonderful ride. Thanks for sharing it with us.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Dino AngeliciI enjoyed your journal and appreciate your replies to my comments. I hope to make it to Africa someday. Your experiences and information provided will certainly help with planning. All the best to you.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Kim JohnsonTo Dino AngeliciThank you so much! I say, "Go for it!" It was a great experience for me despite some initial bumps!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Dino AngeliciThanks Kim. All the best to you.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago