Zanzibar Queen hotel - Snorkeling excursion - Kim and Glory - It's in My Soul - CycleBlaze

September 1, 2022

Zanzibar Queen hotel - Snorkeling excursion

A little added adventure

You can arrange a cheap snorkel tour from the guys on the beach, in their small boats, for cheap, but I wanted an official and safe experience so booked with an official company the hotel recommended.  That means a bigger boat, guides, and snacks.  Wise choice.  There were also scuba divers along.


I went on a snorkel excursion today at Mnemba Island.  Two different sites.  The first one was amazing!! Saw all kinds of colorful fish, starfish, gigantic sea urchins. (Who knew they got so big) trumpet fish and a moray eel, plus a stingray.  Went back, had snacks, peed in the ocean 😂 and since I was the only one in the water at the time, they thought it was funny to give sign language for a shark behind me.  Not funny!  The water near the island was the most beautiful shade of turquoise/blue.  Absolutely stunning!!

From the five original snorkelers, only three jumped back in the water for round two.  One quickly panicked and went back to the boat.  Why, you ask?  Because the waves were fricking huge!!! It was like an e-ticket ride at Disneyland except you can’t get off the ride!  While she was getting assisted back, our guide told me and the other guy to swim “that way” because we were in deep water.  It was a bit concerning, but the two of us found our way to where the coral reef was.  Tons more fish, including bigger schools of them, plus we saw a stone fish and a puffer fish, plus I spotted a huge jelly fish.  I asked him if it was dangerous.  Yes.  So I should get away from it.  Yes. 😂.   The water was so rough I actually got a little seasick while snorkeling.  Acid reflux in the water with a snorkel.  Not fun.  It was scary a couple of times because a big wave would cause me to actually lose sight of our guide as he would disappear behind it.  I snorkeled  in rough water in Mexico once, but this was way worse.  I’m a strong swimmer, but it was a lot.  The boat ride back was rough for awhile too because of the waves.  Back on land and I feel pretty okay now.  Except I am starving!  Overall, a great experience!!!

I did mention to the hotel how rough the water was and they offered a refund, but I told them no because I actually went in the water at both sites.  They were however going to talk to the company because part of them referring people to them is for safety reasons and them taking precautions.   They stated, “sounds like they should have called off the second site.”  Yep, probably should have, but hey, you only live once!

Our captain
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Mnemba Island. Private property.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Ummm, I walked back to my hotel with my hair looking like this?!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0