Nungwi to Matemwe - Zanzibar Queen Unique Hotel - Kim and Glory - It's in My Soul - CycleBlaze

August 31, 2022

Nungwi to Matemwe - Zanzibar Queen Unique Hotel

A proper splurge

Glory was almost  bearnapped today!!  He is very traumatized!  I stopped to take a picture of a short, ridiculously steep hill (one of many) on my way to my fancy resort hotel.  There were kids walking and I think they thought I was taking a picture of them.  One girl acted like she was throwing a stick/branch at me!  I keep going and get to the top of the hill.  Kids everywhere.  I see another girl pick up a stick/branch and wave it at me.  Then another little girl makes a beeline for Glory (who is safety-pinned to my handlebar bag) grabs him with her whole hand and tries to take him!!  Poor Glory!  I raised my voice, pointed at her and said, "No, that was very bad.  You don't steal."  She just looked at me.  I could see them eyeing my rack pack, but thankfully, I have everything secured.  I wagged my finger at her for good measure.  Some of the younger kids are friendly, bu the older kids and women are unusually cold.  They just stare at me.  Is their attitude influenced by their religioin?  (Remember, I am in a predominantly Muslim area).  They are completely covered and I'm in tight bike shorts which is not exactly appropriate in their eyes.  Then again, all the men say "hi" so I don't know what's up.  

Got to my nice lush resort and promptly went swimming in the nicest pool.  Headed to the beach and relaxed in a lounge chair there as well.  (The hawkers (mostly Maasai) are waiting to pounce or trying hard to get my attention.  They aren't allowed up close to the chairs.  Oh ya, and just call me the cat lady.  See photos.

For my grand finale, I've signed up for 1/2 day snorkel trip for tomorrow.  Let's hope the weather holds!

Seriously? Please don't rain on me!
Heart 1 Comment 0
This hill is stupid steep :(
Heart 0 Comment 0
Not sure what is drying on the shoulder, but it smelled good
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
My extra comfy bed
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
This could be fun if there were more people here or at least if I wasn't by myself
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Went to check out my garden view and this guy was sleeping in one of my deck chairs
Heart 1 Comment 0
Garden view
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
My cat friend invited his friends over
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is a "where's Glory" photo
Heart 1 Comment 0
Glory's loving this resort too!
Heart 1 Comment 0
I made good use of this
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 20 miles (32 km)
Total: 4,047 miles (6,513 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0