Salima (rest day at Blissfully Lily Lodge) - Kim and Glory - It's in My Soul - CycleBlaze

July 23, 2022

Salima (rest day at Blissfully Lily Lodge)

Worked on my blog.  Anyone notice how behind it is?  Sorry, but thanks for your patience if you're following along.

Took today off because I think I need to enjoy this lodge, tv and work on this little masterpiece.  Ha ha.  I started the day off with a cold shower, but I ordered food so it would be ready for me by the time I finished showering.  She tells me, "I was waiting for you."  Sometimes, the language barrier sucks.  Onwards tomorrow and will be back on the lake.

They told me the "shortcut" back into town.  It was more of a path than a rode, but it was indeed shorter.  I saw some ladies pumping water and they were all shouting at me so I went over to say hello and try my hand and pumping water.  Figured I needed the full Malawian experience.  It's harder than it looks!  No wonder the locals are strong!  However, I was less enthused with all the ladies asking me for money after I filled up 1.5 buckets for them.  I have a lot of patience for the kids asking me, but it is annoying when the adults ask me.

Pumps like this are in most of the villages. It's their safe water supply.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 4 miles (6 km)
Total: 3,630 miles (5,842 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Rich FrasierI’m following along, but I never mind a few days between updates. You are having such an amazing adventure !!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kim JohnsonTo Rich FrasierThanks Rich. Now I'm even behind on reading comments. Wifi has been less than reliable and I always seem to be busy. :)
Reply to this comment
1 year ago