Senga Bay to Salima (Blissfully Lily Lodge) - Kim and Glory - It's in My Soul - CycleBlaze

July 22, 2022

Senga Bay to Salima (Blissfully Lily Lodge)

Another leisurely day back to Salima to a different hotel.  The one I wanted in the first place had I not been pushing dark a couple of days ago.  Made it through the gates just in time to escape the locals.  The kids were on the move towards me, ha ha.  I paid more for bigger room so my bike would fit comfortably.  He started negotiations so I saved about $3 and he still got more than he would have.  That makes up for getting screwed when buying more data for my phone.

My morning started off good.  A lot of sand on the road back to the paved road when leaving the hostel.  Some kids saw me get stuck and next thing I know, they were pushing from behind.  I gave them all a huge thumbs up and thanks.  They actually thought it was fun to help me so it sure made my departure easier.  Just retracing my steps back to Salima today.

Stopped at a store and also had some problems with begging kids when I stopped at a store.  The store owner told them to back off, but they returned later.  I couldn't see the front panniers of my bike, but the guys behind the register could.  Apparently, they were sneaking up on it so he went and threw a stick at them as they ran away.  

(Added after the fact.  I bought water at this store and gas station today and tomorrow (because I'm taking a rest day tomorrow.)  The one I picked both days leaked so I put it back and got a different one.  I wondered for a second if it was a legit water bottle, but I saw there was a plastic wrap over the lid so I thought they were fine.  In hindsight, when I opened them, the second ring to break the cap seal, was missing.  I thought it odd it opened easy.  It wasn't until the next day when I left and bought this brand of water again, that I noticed the cap had opened way too easy and I think the plastic wrap seal was different.  Why is this important.  Because I get sick in the coming days and I think this water was the culprit.

Anyways, back to today.  It felt hotter today now that I actually -- wait for it -- had a tailwind!!!

The hotel had a nice tv room with couches and I actually relaxed and watched a movie.  It make have had a bearing on why I decided I needed a rest day.

My helpers pushing to help me through the sandy parts. I gave them all fist bumps at the end which they always think is great.
Heart 1 Comment 0
A lot of wicker products for sale along this section. Anyone need a hat?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Now, that's a big tree!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Home sweet home!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 16 miles (26 km)
Total: 3,626 miles (5,835 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0