Salima to near Nkhotakota (Pottery Lodge & campsite) - Kim and Glory - It's in My Soul - CycleBlaze

July 24, 2022

Salima to near Nkhotakota (Pottery Lodge & campsite)

plus a rest day

Another long day on the bike ending at 60 miles down a bumpy, sandy dirt road that I will have to go back up.  Perhaps a rest day is in order as I am at a beautiful spot at Lake Malawi.

Nothing too strenuous hill wise, but the temp is back in the high 70's.  I put on my Corey Hart playlist, because I could and because it drowns out the children.  Don't worry, I interacted with them plenty the rest of the day.  The new thins is "Hello, hello, hello, hello, hello, hello...."  I heard you guys the first time!  I wonder if I will still love kids at the end of this trip, ha ha.  (Of course I will.)

Set up my tent in a nice grassy area and had my own personal security guard all night along with a bright spot light that I eventually asked them to turn off.  Instead they changed the angle so at least it wasn't quite so bright.  Before going to bed, I took another walk along the beach.  Life is good.

See the ?wicker? hen house he's transporting on the back of his bike? Impressive!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Nice scenery and all of a sudden a vegetable garden appears
Heart 0 Comment 0
Sunflowers!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Sunflowers make me happy
Heart 0 Comment 0
The river is such an important part of the locals day to day activity
Heart 0 Comment 0
Nice trees
Heart 0 Comment 0
This was an interesting bridge that I had to carefully pick my way across
Heart 0 Comment 0
I don't even know.... I saw something similar once before. Someone told me it's a just a tradition, but I'm not sure for what exactly. Hmm. He jogged with me for quite awhile.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I actually found a pretty peaceful rest spot. Not an easy task as people materialized even when I think there's no one around
Heart 1 Comment 0
This is not Lake Malawi, but a large lake on the other side of the road from the lake. Quite pretty with the mountains in the distance.
Heart 0 Comment 0
My bike enjoying a rest break too
Heart 1 Comment 0
Still not Lake Malawi
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Ha ha ha. You never know where you might find helpful reminders
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heading toward the lodges on the lake. Bye bye pavement.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The forest area. Nice!
Heart 0 Comment 0
I have my own personal security guard by the campground tonight. Everywhere here has security patrolling at night. They also bring in two German Shephards at 10:00 pm. That's a first!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 60 miles (97 km)
Total: 3,690 miles (5,938 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0