Rest days in Springbok - Kim and Glory - It's in My Soul - CycleBlaze

March 18, 2022

Rest days in Springbok

I ended up staying in Springbok for four nights just chilling.  In part, to let the winds die down as they are blowing against me.  In part to do some more route planning.  More importantly, to acknowledge the emotions around my dream trip not going to be the way I envisioned.  No sharing the experiences with other people on the road.  Just me.  I was really looking forward to not being solo.  There is anger and sadness that needs to be acknowledged.  Yes, I am handling everything quite well and really working on staying positive, but there is a loss that took place even if it needed to happen.  Even a bit of anger at myself for trusting too much and not sticking to my own timeline.  Now I am going through Africa backwards -- from south to north versus the more ideal north to south route.

It's all going to work out and I am still in awe of all I have already experienced and still get to see.  Have already met some great people and one thing about being solo is that it opens the door for more interactions with strangers.  It's funny, I don't mind "the questions" we get asked whereas my friend (ex-friend) seemed to get annoyed with people.  I was actually embarrassed one day because she got an attitude with people who were asking the usual questions about our trip.  Of course, people who don't do this type of travel find it hard to believe, but don't get mad at them because they are having a hard time comprehending it.  To me, it comes with the territory of this kind of travel and I look forward to the conversations to be had.

I mostly stayed in my room, in part because then I could use the air conditioning some, but the guesthouse was really nice!  They welcomed me to use the kitchen and help myself to anything I needed.  Their main focus isn't on running the guesthouse as they both still have jobs.  They ended up leaving to go out of town, but I was welcome to stay longer and i had the whole house to myself.  I joked Glory and I were going to throw a party, but we aren't the partying type.  It was nice to just take the time I needed and I really felt like I needed the days to just process everything and enjoy some of the luxuries of having stores nearby.

I just enjoyed some down days and was actually feeling so tired I took a nap a couple of times - something I never do!  I worked on getting some blog entries done.  Can't wait for the day I'm not so far behind.  It's an ongoing struggle people, but I enjoy doing it and I appreciate you reading it.  Feel free to register and leave me a comment.  I love getting messages and they will be even more appreciated now that I'm solo again.  Thanks.

I kept thinking I was going to walk this "road" to the top of the hill, but somehow, it never happened
Heart 2 Comment 2
Deb SeversonBoy, trusting people, those guys! Leaving you alone while they left. I like it. And it seems it came at a good time when you needed quiet to process...
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kim JohnsonTo Deb SeversonI think in general cyclists get trusted more than the average person. I mean really, I can't carry off everything on my bike.
Ha ha. They also had someone checking in and keeping an eye on things. And yes, definitely nice to just do some reflection and planning.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Can you find the mongoose? I thought maybe it was a meerkat, but learned that mongooses have a white tip on their tail and a meerkats tail has a black tip. The more you know.
Heart 1 Comment 0
My anti anxiety medicine has been crumbling and turning to dust. I went and showed a dr's office my current prescription, paid $200 Rand for a new one and got it filled at the pharmacy. Now, my drugs really are under lock and key until I pay for it. Ha ha
Heart 2 Comment 0
A friend sent me some inspirational quotes and this is the one that spoke to me.
Heart 3 Comment 1
Deb SeversonGood friend, that one. I like it
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
I love flowers and they always cheer me up. Especially with this vibrant color!
Heart 2 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Rich FrasierI just want to say that I'm in awe of you. You are an incredibly brave person and I would never be brave enough to do what you're doing. Good for you for pursuing your dreams!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Kim JohnsonTo Rich FrasierThanks so much Rich for your nice words. I’m not sure if I would have been brave enough to actually follow through with my July plans solo. Based on how things went, I’m forced to be brave at this point. Or a scaredy cat, but push through the fears and hope for the best. It’s definitely way out of my comfort zone, but so far so good and I’m really enjoying my rest days. 😉 Thanks for following along.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Ron SuchanekI'm following on FB but wanted to +1 to Rich's comment. It's daunting to get outside of your comfort zone.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kim JohnsonTo Ron SuchanekThanks again. I really do appreciate the support. :)
Reply to this comment
1 year ago