Springbok to Vioosldrif - longest mileage day in a VERY long time! - Kim and Glory - It's in My Soul - CycleBlaze

March 21, 2022

Springbok to Vioosldrif - longest mileage day in a VERY long time!

Vioosdrif Lodge

Today was a day of poor decision making on my part.  I left Springbok this morning, but first let's talk the grasshopper plague!  I went out the front door and grasshoppers everywhere!  There is a little walkway from the street to the front door and when I walked by, a gazillion grasshoppers that were in the plants alongside the walkway, got scared and flew/jumped away.  Oh my gosh, people, the air was thick with grasshoppers which is a little bit startling.  So, when I got to the street I proceeded to lose grip on my bike and drop it on it's side.  I wasn't sure they were actually grasshoppers, (locusts came to mind) but somehow they arrived overnight.   (I have since learned it's because of all the rain that has happened and that it is a sort of a plague!) 

I took the shortcut over to the N-7 freeway and headed north.  I had a little bit of a crosswind, but it wasn't too bad.  When looking ahead at the route, I had originally planned to stay in the town of Steinkopf, about 30 miles away.  Peter (guesthouse owner) had told me there is no place to stay there, but I had seen something on google maps.  I asked at the gas station/store and the lady confirmed it's run by the pastor.  However, some guy at the store was kind of hassling me so I didn't get the best vibe and just decided to push on to Vioosldrif -- knowing there was nothing else in between.   However, although it would be a really long day, I knew the last 20 miles was all downhill to the border so didn't really figure that into my calculation.  

At the store, I had grabbed a fanta orange, a water, and a Energade, (South Africa's version of Gatorade).  I ate some macaroni salad that I had kept cold all morning and then was on my way.  Except on my way was a gentle, but steady climb.  Then my indigestion system seemed to not be cooperation, but the return of endless belching.  I know, too much information, but for someone who usually doesn't have this issue, it wasn't the best feeling.  Less than two miles out, I thought it might be wise for me to turn around and go back and tackle this section tomorrow.  But no, I'm stubborn so decided to keep going.  In mountaineering, this is called summit fever so a part of me knew this might be a poor decision.

The scenic sign I keep seeing. If all else fails, I like the sign
Heart 1 Comment 0
These roadside memorials are very common in Mexico. This is the first one I've seen in Africa
Heart 0 Comment 0
Looks like clouds are moving in behind me
Heart 1 Comment 0

I kept going and then the heat started getting to me.  I stopped at a rest area that are usually spaced every 10 kms except this one had no shade.  It felt good to just sit and recuperate a little.  I pulled out my emergency salt type tablets because clearly, dehydrated and electrolytes are off.  As I go to leave, I see my back tire is going flat.  I quickly looked and noticed a thorn which I pulled out.  Knowing it was a slow leak, and knowing that the thought of sitting in the hot sun trying to fix it was not at all appealing, I did a quick pump up, hoping it would hold for awhile and also hoping that the next rest area would have shade.  Luckily, I did make it to the next one that had a giant tree as shade.  At this point, my quad muscles are cramping and I could barely park my bike against a pole as my legs were seizing.  I got my chair, but  flipped my bike and pulled the wheel off to repair before plopping in my chair and trying to massage/stretch my legs a little.

I tried to stand at one point to put the wheel back on and my legs weren't having it.  Cramp central.  About then, two guys pulled up in a car to ask abut my trip and make sure I was okay.  I said my legs were cramping and they offered to give me a ride back to Steinkopf, but I said then I'd have to climb the hill again.  They countered with they'd drop me back at this spot again and one of the guys said I could stay at his mom's house.  I almost would have taken them up on it, but they were both drinking gigantic beers.  He even said before he left, "Last chance."  I can't remember how far I had left, but I figured I still had enough time.

The landscape was pretty at times, but I didn't really have time to stop and take pictures.  I saw a bunch of rain clouds up ahead and really hoped they wouldn't come my way.  I even saw a bit of a rainbow.

Or rain clouds ahead
Heart 2 Comment 0

The climbs were gentle, but I was wiped out.  I took to counting pedal strokes between the little reflector bumps on the shoulder just to keep my mind occupied, and thus distracted.  I finally reached what I knew was the last little hill.  

I took a celebratory few sips of my iced cold water I've been saving.  I replaced my lost/stolen water bottle with a thermos that fits in the bike cage and boy, am I happy with that decision!

Believe it or not, I reached the last of the inclines and although it's hard to tell, it's all downhill to Namibia from here. Finally!
Heart 1 Comment 0

I started down the grade, but it was gentle.  I was only reaching about 15mph and I needed to pedal because have I mentioned I am on a time crunch now against darkness.  I need to go faster than I am.  Eventually, the hill got a little steeper and my speed picked up to 25mps.  Now, I'm going to make it.  However, I kept an eye on the sun that was dipping behind the mountain.  Eventually, I rode through a bit of a canyon, which was nice.  And then two miles from the end, I see my rear tire is going flat.  You've got to be kidding me!!  My worst nightmare.  If I stop to fix it, I'm going to likely end up in the dark.  Definitely not what I want to have happen!  I was actually thinking if there were wild animals out and about, hyenas specifically, but I felt pretty confident there weren't.  I stopped long enough to pump my tire back up and just prayed it was another slow leak.  It was.  Such a relief although I wasn't thrilled about a fast speed with a sketchy tire.  

The B&B owner had told me where a friend of his lived, but it was down a dirt road and there was no way I could mess with that in the moment so I headed straight into town and just squeaked into the Vioolsdrif Lodge and got a huge cottage.  They even discounted it for me in the morning.

I went straight in and took a pretty cold shower to try and get cooled down.  Then I took a muscle relaxer and focused on hydration again.  I know if I even move tonight my legs are going to massively cramp so I barricaded myself in bed with pillows alongside of me so I'd be less likely to roll over.  Miraculously, I did cramp.  The bed was incredibly comfortable, but I still tossed and turned.  My muscles just felt so tight.

I haven't done a 73 miles day in a very long time and I don't have any plans of every doing that again anytime soon!!  I felt like I couldn't really even enjoy the epic downhill because I was just so exhausted at that point.  The good news is, I'm at the border with Namibia.

 

Today's ride: 73 miles (117 km)
Total: 2,171 miles (3,494 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Kathleen JonesYou're doing great. Can't wait to see photos of Namibia.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Kim JohnsonTo Kathleen JonesThanks so much Kathleen. The vastness of the Namibia landscapes is amazing. It’s much too hot to take as many pictures as I would like, plus the flies swarm like crazy when I stop. It has rained a lot here so I guess parts of it are greener than ever before. Thanks for following along. Headed to Fish River Canyon tomorrow and that should be incredible.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago