Vioolsdrif to just past Noordoewer - Kim and Glory - It's in My Soul - CycleBlaze

March 22, 2022

Vioolsdrif to just past Noordoewer

I got a good rate at the Vioolsdrif Lodge and the place was cute enough, but I was so excited to cross into Namibia, I decided to head on out despite my long day yesterday.  I knew I was just going to a campground on the Orange River just a few miles down the road.  What I didn't quite realize is that few miles down the road was the complete opposite direction for if I wanted to take the main highway.  More on that later.

The grasshoppers are a bit bigger than I am use to seeing!
Heart 2 Comment 0

Crossing borders is not my strong suit, but this was one of the easier ones.  First stop was to stop at security and get a "gate pass."  He then directed me to immigration, then the police station to get cleared out of South Africa.  A bit of a ride through no mans land with an obligatory stop

If I would have known the picture was actually going to turn out, I would have straightened my helmet (and the phone)
Heart 7 Comment 1
Donna carrToo funny!I can resonate with this!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
I think they are talking to me with my overpacked bicycle luggage!
Heart 0 Comment 0

First stop in Nambia, clearance pertaining to Covid.  They just recently changed the requirements and since I am fully vaccinated, I didn't need a negative PCR test.  Next up, customs/immigration.  A rather gruff individual.  The form asks for an address in Namibia, but since I obviously don't have one, I left it blank.  Oh no, he honed in on that immediately.  Luckily, a friend had provided an address for me in case I needed it.  Put that in and handed it back.  I asked him if when he stamped my passport if he could find a page that had a spot as I was running low on pages.  He asked, "Why do you come to Nambia if you don't have enough pages."  Ummm, because I'm traveling!  When I double checked where he stamped he tells me he gave me 90 days and when I found the Namibia stamp, I see he has stamped it on the center of a page that already had four other stamps on it.  Not quite what I had in mind, but I guess it works.  Ha ha.  Next he sent me to the motor vehicle department.  I explained to the lady I am on a bicycle, so she hands me a form for a motorcycle.  I again explain, bicycle with not motor and she laughs.  I don't have any forms to fill out here.  Food checking place is next.  All clear.  I bike away, hand my "gate pass" with stamps showing I stopped everywhere to the guard, I am now in Namibia.

First stop, the petrol station to get a Namibian SIM card for my phone.  That took some doing, but I have a 7 day pass that I can top up later.  Next stop, a few hundred yards down the road, the bigger gas station and a Wimpy fast food joint I have yet to try.  Now seems like a good time.  Burger and fries for lunch.  Adequate.

It's now early afternoon and the sun is blazing.  I had called ahead to Amanzi Trails campsite to verify camping.  But after further research I realized, there's one called Felix Unite a bit closer to the highway and they have a swimming pool.  Sounds good to me.  Easy enough terrain, but then some short, steep rolling hills appear.  I'm hot, I'm tired from yesterday and they were not making me happy.  I am glad to see the turn off to Felix Unite.  It should be noted that both camps cater to multi day canoe trips on the Orange River.  Reception at Felix Unite tells me the owner said no more independent campers as of yesterday.  They have grass everywhere.  Can yo call him and explain I am on a bicycle and get permission?  Nope, not willing to do it.  No choice, but to leave.  I head back up the hill to the main road, but have to stop and rest.  I'm exhausted and a hill I should be able to ride is killing me.  I get to the road, go down and 1/2 up another steep one before I'm pushing the rest of the way.  Next thing I know, a truck with Felix Unite passes by and pulls over and a guy hops out.  Yes, I can camp there.  I see the turnoff to Amanzi though, but it's 3 km down a gravel road.  I thought the initial customer service was poor, so might have continued to the other campsite, but the swimming pool was calling my name.  They had a great pool, bar and restaurant area all overlooking the river.  I got my tent set up in a nice shady spot and relaxed the rest of the day.  

Nice swimming pool with the Orange River in the background
Heart 3 Comment 0
Home sweet home! My tent blends in quite well
Heart 1 Comment 0
It's a "Chase the Sun" kind of place. Reminding me of songs by one of my favorite musicians, Corey Hart.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
More suns to keep me feeling cheery
Heart 0 Comment 0
Love it!
Heart 1 Comment 0
The river is actually flooded because Namibia has gotten a lot of rain. It's a very muddy color now. If it was low, I was told it'd be clear
Heart 2 Comment 0
People getting ready to leave on a multi day canoe trip. My kind of fun!
Heart 0 Comment 0

I didn't realize this camp was so far down the road from the option of taking the main highway.  I'm too lazy to backtrack and truth is, if I take the main highway, I'd have to stealth camp the first night and that's less than exciting to me.  I guess it's decided.  I'll go the bit more adventurous route and head towards Fish Canyon.  In the meantime, I think I'll take a rest day tomorrow.

Apparently, I did have some pictures from the road today.  Enjoy!

On my ride into the campground. Very dramatic scenery!
Heart 0 Comment 0
And one sole palm tree out there, like me, one sole cyclist out here!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Gotta say, I loved these flowers along the fence!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Not loving these little roller coaster hills so much
Heart 0 Comment 0
Wrong. Just wrong. Ha ha
Heart 3 Comment 0

Today's ride: 10 miles (16 km)
Total: 2,181 miles (3,510 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Dino AngeliciHow difficult was it to get a visa for Namibia?

If someone does not have an address or a contact there, what else can be done?
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Kim JohnsonTo Dino AngeliciI had a contact address, but usually, just put your hotel address for your first night.

I don’t know what nationality you are, but for me it was easy to get one at the border.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Dino AngeliciTo Kim JohnsonThank-you Kim. The address of a hotel or place of lodging is helpful.

I am a USA citizen. From what I can tell, you are as well. I hope that bodes well for me getting a visa.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago