Noordoewer to near Aussenkehr - Kim and Glory - It's in My Soul - CycleBlaze

March 24, 2022

Noordoewer to near Aussenkehr

Norotshama River Resort

I swear, I am the world’s slowest packer in the mornings.  Despite getting up extra early, so wasn’t on the road until 7:00.  Luckily, it’s a short day on the bike to my next campsite and the weather has cooled down to the high 80’s.  

I headed out not really being sure what to expect, but what a day!  !! I am so in awe of Namibia.  Out there in nothingness again, but it just made me feel so strong.  I wasn’t scared at all all.     I just took it all in.  

Not long after leaving my camp this morning I saw this stunning view. The Orange river is weaving itself through somewhere over there
Heart 5 Comment 0
The sun is ruining the lighting for my pictures, but I was pretty excited to see a sand dune already
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Nothing else to do out here, may as well get some selfie practice!
Heart 5 Comment 0
Hey, when I'm the only one out here in this expanse of nothingness, I can take a selfie in the middle of the road if I want!
Heart 5 Comment 0

Oh, by the way, I even had my own personal fan club/entourage.  A bunch of annoying little gnats/flies that were just circling my head non-stop.  I ate two. 🤮 I was really enjoying myself and then all of a sudden my front wheel gets a notable wobble.  Long story short, my tire got a bulge/bubble in the sidewall.  It was actually a relief that was it because that I can fix as I carry a spare tire with me.  

Accidentally missed the turn to the campsite so backtracked a little down a dirt road with grape vines on either side.  Eventually got my tent set up and Glory and I headed to the pool.   Poor Glory, I almost lost him.  I left him lounging on a chair, but a nice man told me he was still there.  Just had a terrific inexpensive lunch.  This place is even better than yesterday’s so yes, I’ll be staying a day or two 😃I ’m not sure if I’m on a bike tour or vacation, but I sure am in my happy place.

Glory cooling down under the waterfall
Heart 2 Comment 0
Bonus points if you can find Glory
Heart 4 Comment 0
Orange river in the background
Heart 3 Comment 0
Nice swimming and hard to tell, but the view across the river is really nice!
Heart 2 Comment 0
Also, my happy place!
Heart 4 Comment 0
My tent site provides a nice view overlooking the river. Sold!
Heart 2 Comment 0
What can I say! BEAUTIFUL!
Heart 2 Comment 0
And finally, the Orange River is really looking orange!
Heart 5 Comment 0

Today's ride: 26 miles (42 km)
Total: 2,207 miles (3,552 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 8
Marlize TheronHi Kim
Was great to meet you!! Looking forward to see of you found our monument onroute to Ai- Ais!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Rachel and Patrick HugensGreat photos! Namibia is beautiful.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Leslie and Rob CookeI'm enjoying following your adventure Kim and all the beautiful pictures too. Bike tourist. I like it.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Kim JohnsonTo Marlize TheronHi, great meeting you guys as well. I'm pretty sure I found your "markings" in the desert. (See picture.) I was quite impressed as I was dying of heat exhaustion at the time. Enjoy the rest of your vacation!
-Kim
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Kim JohnsonTo Rachel and Patrick HugensThanks guys!! It's a new level of adventure for me unlike you seasoned pros! :)

-Kim
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Kim JohnsonTo Leslie and Rob CookeThanks so much! I looked at your profile. We were neighbors. I was born and raised and lived most of my life in the Seattle area. Thanks for following along! Happy cycling!
-Kim
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Rachel and Patrick HugensWe admire you for cycling Namibia. We rented a vehicle for ten days to see the sights ourselves. Keep it up, but don't feel bad for doing some hitchhiking to see the sights you would otherwise miss.
Tailwinds! racpat
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Kim JohnsonI am back on the main B1 highway tomorrow and likely making a straight shot up to Windhoek. I am toying with renting a car or at a minimum, getting a shuttle out to Walvis Bay/Swakopmund so I don't have to bike both ways. Definitely going to Etosha National Park, just not sure how I'm getting there yet. :)
Reply to this comment
2 years ago