Norotshama river Resort to Ai-Ais Hot Springs - Kim and Glory - It's in My Soul - CycleBlaze

March 26, 2022

Norotshama river Resort to Ai-Ais Hot Springs

Heat exhaustion strikes

I was so proud of myself starting off today when I took "middle of nowhere" to the next level.  The landscapes were beautiful!  I was having fun except for the annoying flies for awhile.  I had a gentle, but steady uphill a lot of the day.  I left at 7:00am.  I paced myself.  Made sure I took 10 minute breaks off my bike and kept snacking to keep my energy up.  I drank electrolyte drinks and popped salt/electrolyte tables.  Kept my buff wet around my neck all day.  Packed a bit over 6 liters of water/electrolyte drink.  I thought I was well prepared, but it wasn't enough.

Enjoy this pavement and greenery while I can. It's all about to end.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heading out into the unknown
Heart 3 Comment 0
But the pattern on this rock wall is really neat
Heart 5 Comment 0
Resting up for a minute
Heart 4 Comment 0
The bugs were swarming my head early on. Take this you bastards!
Heart 7 Comment 0
Ummm, hello? Anyone? Hello?
Heart 6 Comment 0
I was afraid to get too close to this guy!
Heart 3 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltA solfugid. Not dangerous, but can bite hard if provoked.

http://biodiversityexplorer.info/arachnids/solifugids/index.htm
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Kim JohnsonLet's just say I hope I never see another one!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

I took a nice lunch break in the only shade I saw since early morning!  At the junction where I turn left.  I should probably mention, not long after passing by the town of Aussenkehr, the road turned to dirt/gravel/sand....a mix of all three.  After my lunch break, I felt recovered.  Then it all went to hell in a bad way. 

Who cares what the sign says? There's SHADE!
Heart 2 Comment 0
The flowers make the view a little bit nicer.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Some people I met at the campground showed me a picture of their creation. Cairns, etc. seem to be a thing along these lonely roads. I think I found it!
Heart 2 Comment 0

I started out with another gentle climb, but now the heat was really getting to me.  It's pushing the high 90's / mid/upper 30's today.  I lost all my energy a couple times bordering on feeling nauseious.  Nothing serious, but I know that I was suffering from heat exhaustion and was trying to keep it in check.  Took a couple more breaks in the sun, but the wind was blowing now so felt a tad cooler.  Then came the hill from hell.

Actually, it didn't seem that bad, but I was walking it.  I can feel my quad muscles wanting to cramp so I'm just going sow.  I get to the top, see there's a little downhill and one more little up.  I try to ride.  The leg cramps hit instantly.  Massive!! I quickly throw my leg off my bike before it cramps so bad I fall.  I hastily park my bike and sit on the dirt road trying to massage it out.  It took a long time and it wasn't a pretty sight.  Was a little concerned at this point, hadn't seen any cars in well over an hour and I'm a little concerned.  I still have water, but I start to worry if it will be enough.  I also have my sarong that is wet from having been wrapped in a water bottle all day.  That can help cool me down.  It think I'm going to be okay, but sure am glad I have the Garmin to send an SOS if absolute worse case.

I started having major heat issues shortly after this picture was taken.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The hill from hell!!!
Heart 1 Comment 0

I stood up to grab some salt and sugar off my bike and knocked my bike over and my handlebar contents spill all over the road.  Almost comical.  I thought about taking a picture, but I figured I'd better focus on surviving and getting to Ai-Ais.  I put a sugar packet and two salt packets on my tongue and let them absorb.  I pulled out my chair and sat for awhile again.  I look at the map and see there's a junction ahead.  Maybe a better chance for vehicles there.  I decide to ride there and then in the distance I see the dust of a vehicle coming from behind me.  Finally.  I flag it down and opt to take a ride.  Not worth risking my life to continue out here based on the scarcity of vehicles and people in general.  

Turns out, I was so seriously so close to the solid downhill run the remaining 18km to camp.  Who knew?!  Better to be safe than sorry.  I really could die out here from heat stroke.  I have tomorrow off as it's over 100 degrees the next couple of days.

It was a couple that lived near Ai-Ais that gave me a ride.  I had to sit in the bed of the pickup truck as there wasn't room in the cab.  The guy dropped his wife and groceries off at the house.  On the way in, he didn't slow down for this dip in the road and I bounced hard on the truck.  Ouch, that's gonna be a bruise.  On the way out, I thought I was more prepared, but I literally went airborne off of the bed of the pickup truck!!  It was like an E ticket ride at Disneyland for free!

Saw some baboons in the campsite immediately upon arrival.  They are running a special for locals so I am an honorary local today so I could get the cheap rate for a room...with air conditioning!  Yes, please!  I went out to the swimming pool heated by the hot springs.  At least it wasn't freezing!  I thought there would be a bunch of pools here and soaking my aching muscles in them had sounded good.  The only hot pool is way beyond anything, but dipping a finger in.  On the bright side, I had a nice dinner at the restaurant to cap off my day! 

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0

Today's ride: 36 miles (58 km)
Total: 2,243 miles (3,610 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Marlize TheronHI Kim
I was so worried about your journey to Ai-Ais but to Windhoek even more! It is a long stretch! You will have to catch a ride. The heat is too much! Glad you found our "letter" next to the road! Pity we did not leave water. Have fun, keep safe and I will follow your trip! Enjoy Africa! I hope you meet many more lovely people!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Kim JohnsonTo Marlize TheronHi, I’m a little late, but things have been a little crazy! Ya, the heat definitely was an issue for a couple of days. I did get a little bit more acclimated and it also cooled down. Still had some longer days though. All part of the adventure! Thanks so for following along! I hope the rest of your vacation was amazing!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago