Ai-Ais Hot Springs - Rest day - Kim and Glory - It's in My Soul - CycleBlaze

March 27, 2022

Ai-Ais Hot Springs - Rest day

I needed a rest day today to recover from yesterday's heat issues, not to mention, because I can.  I went out for a walk early this morning to see what I could see around camp.  I saw baboons on the rocky hillside in the distance, but not close enough to get a picture of any of them.  Bummer.

I lounged around, took a swim, relaxed some more.  I had met two cyclists last night, but they didn't stay here.  They only came down because they were almost out of water.  They rested a bit and were going to go stealth camp partway up the hill.  They have traveled from Nairobi, but have gotten a lot of rides and said it's very easy to do once I am out of Namibia.

Today a group of cyclists that were fully supported arrived at the campground.  Talked to just a couple of them as well as one of the guides, Andy.  We exchanged contact information as Andy lives near Livingston and it looks like we might run into each other again down the road.  One of the other guides also had me take a picture of all the contacts and information they had listed for emergencies for their group.  They said if I get in any sort of trouble reach out to them and they will help me out.  He told me the heat is not like in California and I will die in this heat.  Ummm thanks, I think I figured that out yesterday.

Since I didn't get to cycle down the big downhill, there is no way in hell I am cycling up it.  Ha ha.  I arranged to pay for a ride out of here.   I have to backtrack further than I realized, but they will take me back to my lunch junction so the remaining 30 or so miles will be manageable.  Still hot, but hoping tomorrow goes better.

Around camp
Heart 3 Comment 0

 

Nice scenery
Heart 2 Comment 0
I think there is a baboon somewhere on this cliff
Heart 2 Comment 0
Something simple and nice (even if it is a bee)
Heart 1 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltThat is Datura, a north/south American plant invasive in Namibia.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Datura
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Not so simple or nice in my book! I have since learned it is a type of locust.
Heart 2 Comment 0
I don't want to see the creature that left these footprints!!!! There are many, many feet involved!
Heart 2 Comment 2
Kim JohnsonTo Cinda WeisgerberInteresting, thx
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
The Fish River
Heart 2 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0