Garies to Springbok (mostly by car) wind is evil! - Kim and Glory - It's in My Soul - CycleBlaze

March 17, 2022

Garies to Springbok (mostly by car) wind is evil!

Leopard Tree Guesthouse

I left this morning knowing there was a very big climb out of town.  I clocked it and it was approximately 3.5 miles long.  Good morning to me!  I actually got a little bit lucky and had a bit of wind helping me along...until I didn't.  I knew a headwind was forecast for today and right after the climb, it hit.  It's also worth mentioning that there was no notable descent after all that hard work!  What a rip off!  I only had 30 miles to go to Kamieskroon where I'd be camping for the night, but from other journals, I knew it was a tough 30 miles.

I was feeling discouraged.  It was already getting hot and I was making ridiculously slow progress because of the wind.  I haven't talked a lot abut the wind, but I should mention I've been blessed with some tailwinds that So.... I was like a Springbok and sprung ahead to the town of Springbok.  I had only gotten 5 hours of restless sleep last night and didn't feel great this morning.  I had thought, "Screw this, I'll hitch a ride.  No need to torture myself."  Not much traffic passes and the first few vehicles were mostly passenger cars or semi trucks.  I kept going.  I found a rest area and took a break.  Not long after one of the passenger vans stopped for me.  They pull a trailer behind and my bike and gear fit in it without too much trouble.  I asked where they were going and he said, "Springbok."  Sure sounds good to me.  I know there was a headwind forecast for tomorrow too.  I negotiated a price, but it was money well spent as far as I'm concerned.have really helped me out.  There wasn't going to be any help today.

Apparently, I'm on this route. Almost to Namibia! My route turned to the left and climbed up over that big hill!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Nice looking windmill at my rest area
Heart 0 Comment 0
A rather large beetle making its way towards me. Even though I am sure you are harmless, stay away!
Heart 2 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltDigging around on the internet it looks like a Tok-Tokkie beetle. You are correct, it is harmless.

https://www.whatsthatbug.com/category/beetles/darkling-beetles/page/3/

More info.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Toktokkies
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Kim JohnsonTo Bill ShaneyfeltHarmless, but rather large!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

They dropped me off at the bus station and since I wasn't planning to be here today, I had no idea where I would stay.  I headed to the KFC across the street and had a meal while I tried to sort out accommodation.  Everything was expensive so I decided to just go to the campground.  I had to ride down a big hill to get there and had this sinking feeling this is not where I wanted to stay.  There was hardly anyone there and it was out of town.  I made some calls and decided to head to Leopard Tree Guesthouse.

Of course that meant climbing back up the dreaded hill against the wind.  I ended up partially walking it because I was just low on energy.  The lady had told me they had a small room and it was $500 Rand.  I was thinking it was going to be really small, but was pleasantly surprised when I arrived.  Plenty big enough for me!  

A bit of a cold, but refreshing swim in the pool
Heart 0 Comment 0
Super cute room with butterflies on the bed. I don't like the word "love" and here it is again reminding me it's an okay thing.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Of course when I arrived, I was just mentally and physically exhausted despite the short day and beyond frustrated.  Part of the reason I like to plan is because it avoids situations like this!  Peter and his wife Hanlie (sp?) met me at the door and I explained my situation and how I ended up solo and not prepared.  A few tears fell and I was really embarrassed, but that's the toll everything has taken on me.

I went for a swim in the freezing cold pool and just relaxed and got cooled down.  They told me the shortcut to the Spar supermarket so I went there and grabbed some stuff.  Yes, I'm taking tomorrow off.

P.S.  I realized late in the day it was St. Patrick's Day.  No one here seems to care.  

Today's ride: 13 miles (21 km)
Total: 2,098 miles (3,376 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0