Katima to Muchenje Cottages/Campsite, Botswana - Kim and Glory - It's in My Soul - CycleBlaze

June 14, 2022

Katima to Muchenje Cottages/Campsite, Botswana

Ouch!
Heart 0 Comment 0

The unthinkable happened.  I was leaving camp this morning on the sandy dirt road.  Out of the bushes....jus kidding, a guy in a truck slowed down and kept pace with me while asking questions out of the passenger window.  I rode more over to the side of the road because of it.  Just as he says goodbye and pulls away, I hit a patch of deep sand and promptly fall over.  He puts it in reverse and just as I've untangled myself and says, "That was my fault wasn't it?"  Technically yes, but I didn't say that.  I was more embarrassed that the one time I fall, there's a witness.  My spikes on the pedal stabbed me, but it almost looks like something bit me!  Is Botswana ready for me?!

Feeling happy
Heart 1 Comment 0
The scenery changed a bit and I really enjoyed this section
Heart 0 Comment 0
The pictures never do it justice, but these trees with all their intricate branches, are really pretty
Heart 0 Comment 0
I really needed a rest break and found a rest area. The second the kids saw me, over they came. Then the drunkish man came and wanted me to give him money for beer. He ruined the whole experience.
Heart 1 Comment 0
If you haven't figured out why I take these pictures by now. I really do enjoy Bryan Adams' music!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Houses are improving as well. Instead of huts we actually have some solid looking walls/houses here.
Heart 1 Comment 0
I’ve seen thes birds a lot. I have no doubt someone (right Bill :) is going to id them for me
Heart 0 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltPretty well matches online images of southern yellow-billed hornbill.

https://avise-birds.bio.uci.edu/coraciiformes/bucerotidae/tockus_leucomelas/index.html

:-)
Reply to this comment
1 year ago


Crossing the Chobe River in no mans land on the way to the Ngoma Bridge border post
Heart 0 Comment 0


Most of the day was uneventful.  The scenery was good and I am excited to cross into my third African country, Botswana.  Unfortunately, it didn't quite go as smoothly as I hoped.  Immediately at customs they tell me it's not safe to bike to the campsite 7 km down the road.  I think they are confused and think I want to go through Chobe National Park which is definitely not allowed on a bike.  They insist it's too dangerous and ask, "Aren't you afraid of lions and elephants?"  Well duh, of course I am!  I'm afraid of all potential animal encounters.  Ha ha.  I call the campsite and they say the same thing.  Too dangerous by myself.  I'm confused because I know another cyclist that rode it.

Not many cars passing through the border and I'm a bit worried if I will even be able to get a ride, but luck was on my side.  I got a couple of ladies in a government vehicle to drop me off at the campground as they were headed that way.

I find out the elephants are really active around here these days, but the bigger issue is a pride of 17 lions is hanging out outside the national park gate along the ridge not far from the road I would have taken.  They are getting into animal corrals and causing problems.  Even the locals won't go into the forest to collect firewood as they are scared.  Can't say that I blame them.

The lady at the campsite warned me about the vervet monkeys TOMORROW during the daytime.  I took it to heart.  It was actually this evening I had to be worried about them.  All of my food was secured except for the loaf of bread on the back of my rack.  I forgot about it and had been up using the WiFi.   When I come back, everything is fine.  I go about 50 feet away to set up my tent with a nice view of the water.  A few minutes later I look and see a monkey running across the upper part of my campsite.  I go up to make sure my stuff is secure and that's when I see they've made off with my bread.  Little rascals are sneaky!  It's actually a pet peeve of mine to keep your food secure and not to feed the wildlife.  Oops.  I messed up.  I was not amused as that bread was part of my dinner.   I suppose they are still cute even if they did seem to taunt me as they ate my bread! 

I quite like my campsite. Home sweet home
Heart 1 Comment 0
Hey, that's mine!
Heart 1 Comment 0
You little heathen!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Sat just outside my tent and enjoyed watching the sunset.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 42 miles (68 km)
Total: 3,052 miles (4,912 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0