Katima - rest day - Kim and Glory - It's in My Soul - CycleBlaze

June 13, 2022

Katima - rest day

Good morning!
Heart 1 Comment 0


After I moved out of the tented room and got my campsite set up, I rode into town.  I needed to sort out some money for Botswana which I will arrive in tomorrow.  I also may have had a craving for a pizza that had an adjoining restaurant by the gas station I was dropped off at.

I tried three banks to get a small amount of money for, Botswana, but no luck.  They either didn't have it or the one bank said I could order it today and come back tomorrow to pick it up.  But, there was one major catch.  I needed a letter from the police department something to the effect that I was traveling by land and was crossing the border so needed money.  Very strange so needless to say, I didn't go that route.  

I went to the money exchange bureau who initially also didn't really want to exchange money.  They asked my nationality and when I answered that I was American, it somehow became okay to change my remaining Namibian dollars to Botswana pula, their currency.  I just wanted enough to pay for my campsite just across the border, money to pay for a ride through Chobe National Park (cycling definitely NOT allowed) and money on arrival in Katima.  I knew I'd find a cash machine once there.

Another nice evening back at camp chatting with the other guests.  I met a lady and I asked her, "Do you know who you remind me of?"  She answered, "I think I know, but tell me."  Sure enough, it's not the first time she's been told she looks like Jamie Lee Curtis.  She is traveling solo via her Land Rover for quite a few weeks all through Africa.  She's originally from Germany, but has made a life for herself in Namibia, which is now home.  I enjoyed talking with her and later she gave me a hug goodbye.  Now, for those of you who don't know, I'm not a hugger.  Jump ahead to morning, where she got up to say goodbye and give me another hug.  My response, "What? Another hug?!"  Then I laughed and told her how rude I must sound and had to explain the "I'm not a hugger" thing and how my friends all tease me.  For the record, I'm way better than I used to be.   

Today's ride: 10 miles (16 km)
Total: 3,010 miles (4,844 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0