Kasane - I love it here! - Kim and Glory - It's in My Soul - CycleBlaze

July 15, 2022

Kasane - I love it here!

The owner of the campground gave me a ride to the entrance gate of Chobe National Park which you are definitely not allowed to cycle through.  I got really lucky and the first lady I asked for a lift, gave me one.  It was fun chatting with her, but damn, not a single elephant to be seen.  Saw some zebra, but not much else.   I gave her some money for her kindness.  She in turn, called her sister to verify there was camping at Chobe Safari Lodge.  There is, so she dropped me right off at the entrance.  I loaded my bike back up and then immediately met two guys, Jurie and Jabu.  They started asking all the regular questions.  I mentioned going on the Chobe River Cruise and they had already researched it and found a place in town that was less expensive than the lodge and invited me to join them.  Perfect!  Next thing I know, they've invited me to their campsite for breakfast.  Also perfect!  If only I could arrive with such good results at all campgrounds!  Ha ha.  Thanks so much guys for your kindness!

I'd say there's lots of disorganization to the campsite system, but I also say, I think they save the crappier sites for people on bikes and motorcycles.  In the end, it all worked out and I stayed here for five nights.  The hotel rooms go for a couple hundred US dollars a night, but my camp site was dirt cheap....and in the dirt.  Luckily, I have access to everything the hotel guests do so it's a win.

Went over and enjoyed breakfast and chatting with the guys and then met up with them later for a ride to where the cruise departs.

This is one of the things I was most looking forward to about this trip and it did not disappoint!  Finally saw my hippos!  And crocs.  And kudus.  And warthogs and a myriad of other animals.  The hippos just eat and eat and eat.  There's something to the saying "hungry hippos."  My favorite was watching an elephant swim across the river!  The whole experience was amazing and although I wasn't sitting my Jurie and Jabu, they were kind enough to loan me a pair of their binoculars so I could really see the animals that were further away.  Started back as the sun was setting on the river and it was beautiful.  So peaceful and tranquil.

On that note, I'm not talking about the cheeky monkeys I did battle with again this morning over a carton of milk.  

Really enjoyed meeting these guys. They are fun and recommended the helicopter flight at Victoria Falls. hmmmm
Heart 0 Comment 0
Camoflaged monitor lizard
Heart 0 Comment 0
Kudu, see the spiral horns
Heart 0 Comment 0
Monitor lizard
Heart 0 Comment 0
Open wide
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Hungry hungry hippos!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Looks all calm and peaceful for a swim, but do you see the hippo?!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Good night
Heart 3 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0