Baggers/bagging - CycleBlaze

Bicycle Travel Forum

Baggers/bagging

Kelly Iniguez

They are discussing RAGBRAI on the recumbent list, Bent Rider on Line (BROL). One man says he's going self contained, or bagging. Other people go on to talk about being baggers.

Is that a RAGBRAI special term, or is it a term I've never heard of for going self contained? It is quicker to say or type . . . . . 

Reply    Link    Flag
2 years ago
Gregory GarceauTo Kelly Iniguez

I hadn't heard the term either until I started riding RAGBRAI.  To my ear, it sounded like the roadies used "baggers" in a slightly derogatory way -- maybe like I use "roadies" in a slightly negative way.  I've been both a Bagger and a Roadie, so I figure I can kid both sides.

Reply    Link    Flag
2 years ago

I forgot to mention that "baggers" make up less than 1% of the RAGBRAI ridership.   In that way, we/they are akin to a speedy day rider showing up at the Missoula headquarters of the Adventure Cycling Association and asking for the same free ice cream they give to cross-country cycle tourists.  

Reply    Link    Flag
2 years ago
Kelly IniguezTo Gregory Garceau

What? Day riders show up for ice cream! How gauche. 

Do baggers pay the entry fee? Or are they poaching ? I think that is there term that is used for people who follow along with Ride the Rockies, but don't pay. 

Reply    Link    Flag
2 years ago

Yup, the entry fee is part of the problem.  Most (but not all) baggers think they are exempt from the entry fee because they don't use the trucks that shuttle their gear.  Yet they take advantage of the traffic-free highways, the town parks & fields that have opened up for camping, and other amenities.

On the other hand, there are a limited number of tickets to ride (something like 10,000) and sometimes the only way to join in on the fun is to just . . . join in on the fun for free.  (For my part, I ALWAYS paid the fee.)