D59: 阜宁 → 运河 - Insert Witty Title Here - CycleBlaze

August 2, 2023

D59: 阜宁 → 运河

The plan for today was all rural roads up to a certain village¹ on the south banks of the [Name] River then east to the coast. 

An unnecessarily late² start coupled with my taking the time to make a video of me carrying my bike down the hotel stairs didn't particularly affect this plan though, at some point not too far into the day, I changed my destination to the city due north of me and figured out a way that would let me take back roads all the way up until sunset followed by making a decision to either keep to the back roads (with a headlight), move to the truck road (with a headlight), or stop at a hotel on the truck road.

The faster than a show leak but slower than a "I must fix this now" changed the schedule up to my getting a hotel in the next available town despite not having reached the minimum 50km distance that I set as my daily "thou shalt not go below this" goal for places that have actual terrain like mountains, but, fuck it, it's dark, and although I'm perfectly happy to be riding with a headlight in this area, I'm not willing to do that and also be stopping every 30 minutes to fill my tire.

--

¹ Other than having a grocery store with a proprietor who has the same name³ as Chinese Boyfriend, the village has nothing particularly interesting about it beyond being a useful point to set my GPS to if want a route that isn't truck roads.

² I can't say "unusually" late because it was quite "usually" the time I tend to put my ass into gear

³ So long as it isn't an actual out-of-my-way detour, it amuses me to find these places⁴ and photograph them and send them to him.

⁴ So far I've photographed a Doors & Window Store, a Truck Mechanic, and a Grocery Store. I've skipped a fruit seller, an antiques shop, a hardware store, and a fishmonger.

Today's ride: 49 km (30 miles)
Total: 3,617 km (2,246 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Gregory GarceauI'm not sure if you invented the footnote-within-a-footnote-to-create-another-footnote literary technique, or if I just haven't seen it before. Either way, I like it.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Gregory GarceauFootnote: I should say, I haven't seen it before EXCEPT in a couple of your other posts.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Marian RosenbergTo Gregory GarceauIt's a Terry Pratchett thing
Reply to this comment
8 months ago