Day 35 - Grand Teton RV Park to Dubois: WoW!! Over To-go-tee (Togwotee) Pass and Beautiful Mountains!! 9,584 ft - Off To See the Wizard - CycleBlaze

July 3, 2014

Day 35 - Grand Teton RV Park to Dubois: WoW!! Over To-go-tee (Togwotee) Pass and Beautiful Mountains!! 9,584 ft

First I need to apologize for my whining yesterday. Let's just say it was very frustrating and move on as today was a new day! I have been thinking all along this trip how amazing it is that people settled out here and how incredibly difficult it must have been. Some of the places we have seen are so remote you wonder how did they decide to settle there. Jack thinks they may have just been to tired to go any further. Also, we have been following the trail of the Nez Perce, as I mentioned before, and they fought for their freedom for over ten years through Idaho, Montana and Wyoming. What I am saying, is how in the world could I get so frustrated just because a signal wouldn't go out into the universe and back fast enough for me!

We were up and out early knowing what was ahead. We thought that we had a 12 mi climb. It turned out to be 17 miles. Taking us 4 1/2 hrs. The grade was not to bad and in fact sometimes it didn't look like more than just a nice curvy ride up a little hill.......UNTIL you turned around and looked back ...WoW! I had a little altitude issue today so I wasn't as strong as I would have liked but I made it. There was a great shoulder the entire 52 mi today. Ten to fifteen feet.

Once the climb was over we had about 21 miles of glorious downhill with a tail wind. Not to steep just right. I hit nearly 40 mph on one stretch. WoW again! Coming into Dubois there were these amazing green and salmon colored hills. I said to myself I bet they call these "painted hills" guess what they are called?! Dubois is a cute little mining town that now is a tourist attraction and another area for fishing and hunting. In fact I heard three shots today. I was hoping they were not shooting at me. We had the most amazing clouds today and again we watched them build. We rolled into the KOA campground got our tent up and it started thundering and raining for about an hour or so. Then it just stopped and has been a nice evening.

We are now in our tent and sleep will come easy I hope ...big day.

Good. Night......

Leaving the RV Park
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heading Up!
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Pass
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Painted Hills
Heart 1 Comment 0
The colors were amazing ....but sorry I never did get the telephone poles out! It was what it was! Beautiful!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Backside of Togwotee! Turning to look behind me.......always look all around.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 52 miles (84 km)
Total: 1,274 miles (2,050 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0