Day 5 - Ending at Monroe, WI - Wisconsin on the Kick-back - CycleBlaze

August 9, 2018

Day 5 - Ending at Monroe, WI

Rode on Jane Addams Trail, Badger State Trail

Woke up to the sound of an ATV stopping near the tent at 5:54am. I asked about paying the camping fee, and was told they'd be over at the barn when I was ready. After registering, I worked on picture selection and report writing until 8:00am, on this pleasant, sunny morning.

I started the packing routine with a check of the bike tires. Front at 46.5psi, and the rear at 26.5psi. I pumped them both back to 50psi, where they're supposed to be.

Folding up the tent was delayed due to a fellow who didn't want to move! I ate the apple pie I bought yesterday, loaded the bike, then moved over to a picnic table in the shade at 10:10am. Completed work on the report, and finally headed out as distant Pearl City's noon whistle blew (at 12:04pm). 

No need today for a noon mileage report! Green County Fairgrounds in Monroe, Wisconsin, is where I wanted to be this evening. About 31 planned-miles - the first third on roads. And this meant back to hills. 

I was following in reverse the route I took in 2010. At 1:35pm, I passed over US-20 on Harlem Center Road. On Winneshiek Road I met up with the Jane Addams Trail at 1:57pm. Lots of standing water nearby, and the mosquitoes were keeping me from stopping too long for picture-taking. 

At 2:52pm I passed Red Oak, 3:18pm Buena Vista, and at 4:12pm I was in Orangeville. I left the trail here, going a block east to get to places to eat. Thomas' Cafe Three Eleven is where I ended up. I was their only customer at the time, and was served a delicious plate of spaghetti with meat balls. Also had root beer and got my Klean Kanteen filled with ice. Everything I needed! The muffin I was offered for dessert would have been too much.

I left at 5:03pm, taking a few pictures in town, and a few more at the trail head. About nine miles to go. When I came to a spot along the trail where trees were less (at 5:35pm), I noticed dark rain clouds to the north. After a large single drop of rain landed on my radio/mp3 player (at 5:42pm), I stopped and covered the front and rear baskets with plastic. Started moving again at 6:03pm, and arrived at the Illinois/Wisconsin state line at 6:10pm. Only time for a quick picture here, because it was now starting to rain (more than a drop). I could see a shelter with an information board a little ways ahead. No room for the bike, but there was good protection for me, which was especially appreciated when the rain notched up at 6:25pm. 

I tried to check the weather radar with my smartphone, but only had a 1x signal. So I text-messaged my wife for a weather report, and messaged Kris about motel options in Monroe. Received reports back that the rain would be over soon, and Monroe had several motel options. 

I was hesitant about starting out on the muddy trail, since I didn't want to leave ruts, but then saw that I wasn't. I was in "keep moving" mode, but did enjoy the pleasant evening after the rain.

Made it to Monroe at 8:24pm. The bike was really too muddy/messy at this point to take into a motel room, so I continued on with my plan of fairgrounds camping. Riding on roads east got me there at 8:54pm. With figuring out registration and where to camp, I was finally ready to set up at site #34 at 9:22pm. 

My camping location was under a street light, so tent set up was easier. I was determined to get as much of the report done as possible, but had to quit, since I kept falling asleep. I set my alarm for 5:00am, and was sleeping by 11:50pm.

Jeff

Spent: $10.14 plus $3 (lunch/supper) + $15 (campsite) = $28.14.

Day 5 - Pearl City, IL to Monroe, WI
Heart 0 Comment 0

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltNice! Tree frogs are so photogenic! That one is either an eastern gray tree frog or a Cope's gray tree frog. Really hard to tell without having one of each species side by side.

http://simpsonstreetfreepress.org/science/tree-frogs
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Jeff TeelTo Bill ShaneyfeltBill,
Thanks for the information. I didn't know if it was a frog or a toad.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ an old building next to the Jane Addams Trail - Scioto Mills, IL +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltLooks like clearweed.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pilea_pumila
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Jeff TeelTo Bill ShaneyfeltBill,
I so appreciate the information you've provided on the plants I took photos of. It's nice to know what I was looking at, since I generally don't know a flower from a weed.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Thomas' Cafe Three Eleven - Orangeville, IL +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 30 miles (48 km)
Total: 175 miles (282 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0