Day 4 - Ending near Pearl City, IL - Wisconsin on the Kick-back - CycleBlaze

August 8, 2018

Day 4 - Ending near Pearl City, IL

Woke up at 4:00am to a foggy, misty morning. Worked on the report until 6:00am, then packed up and left at 8:10am. My destination today is Emerald Acres Campground near Pearl City, Illinois - a place I'd stayed at in 2010. I'd figured 49 miles for the day, so needed to get going, but also needed breakfast and to write the report for yesterday.

I rode the few blocks to downtown Prophetstown, arriving at Prophet Family Restaurant at 8:30am. I ordered "Dad's Special", which is three eggs, three bacon, and three pancakes. Also had coffee and orange juice. Worked on report before and after eating. After getting my Klean Kanteen filled with ice (and water), I left at 10:00am. I only went as far as a bench outside, and continued on the report. Still not done at 10:34am. The need to get going was distracting me so, that I just started riding.

Research before the trip indicated that at Lyndon there is an old bridge over the Rock River that is no longer open to motor vehicles. I headed east toward there, and turned north onto Lyndon Road at 10:45am. I arrived at the bridge at 11:25am, and was in Lyndon (just over the bridge) at 11:41am. I sat in the shade of their nearby shelter to finish the report. Stopped to check noon mileage: 5.3 miles. With the report send, I left the park at 12:23pm.

My late start for a long-mileage day (for me) was a concern. Straight north on Lyndon Road, I rode on the overpass for I-88 at 12:40pm, and crossed the Lincoln Highway at 1:27pm. At 3:20pm I crossed into Carroll County. 23.3 straight-line miles to go. The trouble with this road, well this area, is there are hills. I stopped for catch-my-breath breaks at the top of a lot of those. During one of those breaks (at 3:45pm) I ate a bag of peanuts. Finally, at 4:42pm, I was in Chadwick.

17.5 miles to go to the campground. I found a picnic table in the shade of Chadwick's mini-park, and considered my options. Keep going looked the best.

I left the park at 5:05pm. Lanark is the next town. Still fighting hills. I diverted a little from my home-planned route by getting on the highway to a enter Lanark from the west. That helped, and so did seeing a Dollar General store ahead!

I arrived at the DG at 6:29pm, and went for chocolate milk and another go at single-serving pies, after checking the date code. Sat outside to eat the cherry pie and one milk. Left at 6:50pm, with 11.4 miles left. 

I decided to change from my country road routing, and go north on IL-73. There were still hills, but I'm sure not as bad as the county roads. At the intersection with Payne Road (at 7:53pm), I decided to get back on my route. Sunset occurred while I was on this road. 

The east end of Payne Road put me on gravel going north (Kittridge Road). I stopped to drink the other chocolate milk, then turned on my lights. What a surprise I had waiting for me ahead after I crossed Spring Valley Road. A steep downhill, then a flat coast all the way to the campground, which was four+ miles away!

I was at the west entrance to Emerald Acres at 9:22pm, and at site #14 at 9:40pm. I did it! I'm going to bed (at 11:25pm).

Jeff

Spent: $12.99 plus $5 (breakfast) + $3.74 (supper) + $30 (campsite) = $51.73.

Day 4 - Prophetstown, IL to Pearl City, IL
Heart 0 Comment 0

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Prophet Family Restaurant - Prophetstown, IL +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltWhat is it? About a '52 Packard?
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Jeff TeelTo Bill ShaneyfeltBill,
After checking out internet photos, I'd say it's a 1953 Packard.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 50 miles (80 km)
Total: 145 miles (233 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0