Day 6 - Still at Monroe, WI - Wisconsin on the Kick-back - CycleBlaze

August 10, 2018

Day 6 - Still at Monroe, WI

Last night I'd set the smartphone alarm for 5:00am, and also, this time, remembered to shut off the alert sound that chimes when my daily devotional arrives (at 3:00am). But I woke up at 4:30am anyway, concerned about getting the report done and leaving at a reasonable time. 

Type, type, fall asleep, wake up, and type some more. I kept at it and was more or less done by 9:00am. With packing still to do, and breakfast, my reasonable start time was getting away from me. At this point, I decided to take the day off. Just then fairgrounds worker Gene on a golf cart stopped by. I told him my second-night plan, and he offered to take my payment and bring back the receipt. He also told me where the laundromat is (nearby), and offered to unlock the east walk gate for me to get there. 

At 9:18am I left for the place I planned to eat breakfast: Amy's Corner Cafe. They were busy. I sat at the counter and ordered 1 pancake, 2 eggs, 2 bacon, orange juice, and coffee. Later I asked for one of the turnovers I kept staring at beyond the counter, but ended up having to get a to-go box for it. I left at 10:15am, walking the bike north to the courthouse for picture-taking.

I was back at the fairgrounds at 10:42am, for the next task on my list: a shower. Then to the laundromat (at 12:25pm). Gene did me a big favor by unlocking that gate. I bought a Dr Pepper at the laundromat, which is part of Southern Wisconsin Co-op. 

Back at the fairgrounds, I found a nice shady spot under a tree next to the show buildings to take a nap, since I wanted shade, and there are no picnic tables anywhere. I had seventy minutes of rest with a nice cool northeast breeze blowing by.

Next, I did some on-line research to figure out where to eat supper. Buggyworks Restaurant and Pub won my searching, and I headed there at 4:00pm. My next-door neighbor back home is sponsoring a nice dinner for me again this year, and this is it: 12 Ounce Ribeye with a specialty soda. The soda company is Blumers, and they have the slogan "Created by bubbly people in Monroe, Wisconsin". I had Blueberry Cream and later, Orange Cream. I also noticed on the menu that the restaurant has "Buggyque" here for wings.

After dinner I walked one block west to the courthouse square, and passed a business playing music that wasn't the same as the courthouse speakers. Then I realized it is a radio station - WEKZ - with the DJ on the other side of the window. What was actually catching my eye more was a photograph in the window that had in it an old Hammarlund shortwave radio like I have.

A little farther down the street (I was walking the bike) I happened upon a couple visiting Monroe. The gentleman said he had had a similar Schwinn bike, only older (1940's), and the best in the catalog at the time. He gave a good description of it, saying also it was heavy. 

After that nice visit, I headed back to the fairgrounds, arriving at 5:45pm. I brought the bike and the battery adapter for charging the smartphone to the front of the Maintenance Building, so I could sit there on the bench to work on the report. At 7:50pm, I remembered the turnover that had been in the basket all day, and ate that. Very good!

This day off has done me a world of good. And I have the report done before it's the next day! I'll end here with a selfie of the revitalized me.

Jeff

Spent: $15 (campsite) + $9.75 plus $2.25 (breakfast) + $1.04 (Dr Pepper) + $3 (laundry) + $25.32 plus $6 (supper) = $62.36. 

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Green County Courthouse clock tower - Monroe, WI +
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ celebrating Green County Cheese Days - Monroe, WI +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0