Julian Wash - Winterlude 2022 - CycleBlaze

January 6, 2023

Julian Wash

Today’s outing was just another out and back to the eastern end of Julian Wash. it’s a ride we’ve taken at least a dozen times now, not including loop rides where we go out the wash and continue around the Loop to come back along the north end.  A very nice ride under pleasant conditions - and today’s conditions were outstanding really, if you’re comparing them against almost anywhere else on the continent right now - but with nothing exceptional to show and tell I wasn’t even going to create a post for it.  We’re overdue for a blog break, after all.

But then, after I’d nearly given up on the day, I saw the first cactus wren of the year.  In fact I saw two cactus wrens and heard two others quite nearby, in a cholla/mesquite forest.  So of course a post is required.

But I can at least make it brief, so we can move on to watching the next episode of Extraordinary Attorney Woo.  First off, to get the suspense over with, here’s the bird of the day:

#30: Cactus wren
Heart 1 Comment 0

And then here are a few shots from the ride.  I didn’t stop often, so this will go quickly.  I didn’t even think to take a photo of Rachael posing with her newly renovated bike, which she loves by the way.  She put in an extra four miles over me (and walked a mile and a half to Fair Wheel to pick up the bike, she insists on reminding me), racing at 16 mph much of the way just because she was so happy that it performs so well now.

So what is this antique, coming in for a landing at the Boneyard?
Heart 2 Comment 3
Bill ShaneyfeltThe A-10 "warthog"

Might be the best tactical aircraft ever built.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fairchild_Republic_A-10_Thunderbolt_II
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsA bird of an entirely different feather.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott AndersonTo Keith AdamsGood point. I’ll add it to my list.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Ha, ha. Rachael may have biked farther than me today, but by slowing down and looking around I saw the only roadrunner for a change.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Change is in the air. I don’t know what a formation like this means weatherwise (and is there a name for it?) but by the time we got home the temperature had dropped considerably and the wind had stiffened.
Heart 1 Comment 3
Gregory GarceauI saw the exact same cloud formation 1,000 miles away in Iowa. I don't know what it means either, but it's clear you didn't get snow behind the clouds like Iowa did.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Bruce LellmanWhen I lived in Minnesota there were fronts that moved through rather quickly. There would be a definite "front" to the clouds and then clear blue sky afterwards and with the blue sky came a drop in temperature sometimes by quite a lot. I loved fronts because they were so dramatic. This looks like a type of front, not as dramatic as a Minnesota front but still a front. Clarification: A front is not a cloud formation but a weather thing.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott AndersonTo Bruce LellmanAnother clarification: a cloud formation is also a weather thing, I’d think. No? Or maybe this another of those linguistic grey areas like “new growth” that needs caffeine to resolve.

Also btw, here’s a photo you’ll appreciate that you might have missed otherwise: https://www.cycleblaze.com/journals/betsyandgail/jerez-to-seville/#43961_bw20uhodfnt5402j4lolr7ssg2q
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rachael races past on her newly refurbished bike, almost too fast for me to catch her in the frame with the RATS THIS WAY sign. These navigational signs are at junctions all along this part of Loop, and just went up in the last few days. What’s this about, Kelly? Who are the Rats?
Heart 0 Comment 0
One of the mutated barrel cacti along Julian Wash that Kelly was just mentioning, in case anyone read that comment and wondered what she was talking about.
Heart 1 Comment 0
What? Yet another vermillion flycatcher? Sure, why not. It’s a slow day anyway.
Heart 3 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltThey have such brilliant color!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott AndersonTo Bill ShaneyfeltThey sure do. I’ve been surprised to see how common they are here. I see them most days I’m out if I’m going through a suitable environment.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Have I seen this mural in the Lost Barrio before, or is it new this year? I don’t remember for sure.
Heart 1 Comment 1
Patrick O'HaraA Jackalope!
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jackalope
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Wolf Moon! I was wrong last night - tonight is the real full moon, and the sky cleared up while we were having dinner.
Heart 1 Comment 0

So that’s the day.  Bye.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Ride stats today: 44 miles, 1,200’; for the tour: 707 miles, 26,700’

____________________

2023 Bird List

     30. Cactus wren

Today's ride: 44 miles (71 km)
Total: 707 miles (1,138 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltThanks for the desert "fix" for today!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago