This is not a time trial - Winterlude 2020 - CycleBlaze

December 26, 2020

This is not a time trial

If this were an actual time trial, we’d be seeing something here like this impressive feat by Gregory Garceau.  

It’s not though.  It’s just a ride, and not a novel one either - just another out and back to Oro Valley, almost entirely on smooth, carfree and carefree Loop paths.  Very enjoyable, but not much new to speak of or show the folks back home; so we just rode, and at a faster and steadier pace than usual.  I stopped with the camera a very few times, but in general showed admirable restraint.

As I rode though, I thought of Mr. Garceau’s excellent ride and it occurred to me that this would be a fine route for a time trial of my own.  A summer or two back I was contemplating going out to Sauvie Island and seeing how far I could push myself in an hour, but never got around to it.  I was fantasizing that maybe I could cover 20 miles, which seems far-fetched now, especially on the Bike Friday which is slower than my Rodriguez.  Maybe 17 though, or even 18?

After all, if Robert Marchand was able to bike 16.7 miles in an hour when he was 100 and 14 when he was 105, you’d think I should be able to put away 17 at 74, even without a sleek track bike and fast tires on a silky-smooth velodrome track to ease the way.  Perhaps we’ll see, some day soon.  Watch this space.

I don’t know what this little oasis is - an old quarry or settling pond maybe - but it does attract the ducks.
Heart 1 Comment 0
There’s a lot of diversity here, although it’s a bit hard to tell with everyone’s heads plowed under. It looks like we’re seeing mostly American widgeons, several pintails, a pair of mallards, a cinnamon teal, and maybe a ruddy duck or blue winged teal - I can’t tell what that blue beaked thing in the upper right is.
Heart 1 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltMaybe a ruddy duck?
https://www.allaboutbirds.org/guide/Ruddy_Duck/id#
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
On the Cañada del Oro River Park Trail.
Heart 1 Comment 0
At our turnaround spot, just after lunch next to the bridge. We sat in the sun at a picnic bench, enjoying our snacks and gazing on the view of Mount Lemmon and the Santa Catalinas. Nice.
Heart 2 Comment 0
This was worth a stop. It’s one of the few things blooming this late in the year. I didn’t get too close - there were dozens of bees swarming around.
Heart 2 Comment 0
This one should be really easy. Someone out there surely knows.
Heart 2 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltYup it is an easy one so I will wait and give others a chance to try.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Heart 0 Comment 0

Ride stats today: 45 miles, 1,300’; for the tour: 1,295 miles, 46,500’

Today's ride: 45 miles (72 km)
Total: 1,275 miles (2,052 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Bill Shaneyfelt20 years ago, I could maintain 20+ on my mountain bike in 10 mile time trials at here Wright Patterson AFB. They were informal but timed and happened once a month spring through fall after work. Darkness kept us from doing it the rest of the year. I was always near the bottom of the list, but then, I was well into my 50s and riding a mountain bike with fenders while most others had 15 pound racing bikes. Not gonna happen again with my knees going bad though.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Gregory GarceauThe aging cyclist and his imaginary time trial,
It's the age-old story of a man going senile,
And now that you've cited him,
You've only ignited him,
To add this limerick most vile.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Jen RahnTo Gregory GarceauBravo!
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Gregory GarceauTo Jen RahnThank you, Mrs. Grumby. It was you who inspired me to join in on the fun of limerick-ing the Anderson's pictures. I hope you don't mind.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago