Day 3 - Clinton Lake to Bloomington - Central Illinois Holiday Weekends - CycleBlaze

July 5, 2021

Day 3 - Clinton Lake to Bloomington

Day 3 - Clinton Lake to Bloomington
Heart 0 Comment 0

I was up at 4:55am. Definitely time for clean clothes, which I had with me. As soon as I was out of the tent I drank the leftover root beer I'd poured into my thermos last night. There was only one other camper in the non-electric section - at site B1. Last night that site had only a small tent. This morning there was a motorcyclist with the tent. We exchanged waves as I passed by on my way to the water spigot.

6:12am - I have this area to myself
Heart 0 Comment 0

I checked the rear tire, which was showing a bad area where the rim meets the sidewall. The tear looked worse than it did before I'd started out this weekend. But the tire made it this far, so maybe it'll last all the way back to Bloomington.

Maybe it will be OK for one more day.
Heart 0 Comment 2
Mike AylingThat tyre is not going to last and you could use a new rim t0o!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Jeff TeelTo Mike AylingMike,
I think you're right!
Jeff
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

I headed out at 7:04am, making one more attempt to find someone to pay for the campsite, since they were out of pay envelopes. No luck. [I mailed the payment to them the next week.]

7:11am - Clinton Lake in the morning
Heart 0 Comment 0

My at-home routing had me going south four miles, then west, to avoid riding on IL-10. I'd reconsidered that this morning and decided to try Route 10, since it was early morning. That worked out OK. I did avoid two miles highway riding by using DeWitt County CR-600N and White Pigeon Road to get to Route 10.

8:13am - Salt Creek from Route 10 bridge
Heart 0 Comment 0

I arrived at the Circle K gas station in Clinton at 8:51pm to buy today's supply of peanuts, Gatorade, Clif Bars and ice. Then on to Kate's Kitchen on the town square, the place I'd selected before the trip for breakfast. But they were closed, so back south to Ted's Garage. I'd been the Ted's Garage before during my 2015 trip. It's actually a restaurant with a repair shop theme. They were busy, but that was OK.

9:51am - breakfast at Ted's Garage
Heart 0 Comment 0
10:15am - unofficial bicycle parking area on the east side of Ted's Garage
Heart 0 Comment 0

On my way out of town I checked out Woodlawn Rest Park. The city's website indicated it as a place for free overnight RV camping, and I wanted to see if it'd work for tent camping. I guess not - maybe not even for RV camping anymore, since there's a sign now that states "City Park Hours Sunrise to Sunset."

I continued north on Business Route 51 until I could turn west (on CR-800N). Then north, west, and north again onto CR-900E.

10:52am - looking back south at a unique mailbox
Heart 0 Comment 0

At CR-1100N I turned back east toward Wapella, arriving there at 11:14am. Railroad tracks paralleled Chestnut Street through town, and there was an engine sitting on the tracks. I parked the bike and walked closer for a picture.

11:23am - Motive Rail, Inc. Locomotive MRIX 1477 in Wapella
Heart 1 Comment 0

I climbed up to get a picture through the rear window of the controls.

view through the rear cab window
Heart 0 Comment 0

While I was on the engine, I heard what sounded like air brakes releasing, so looked around at the locomotive behind me. Nothing. When I was walking back to the bike I saw that it had fallen over, and water was leaking from my water jug. Then I realized that the rear tire had blew. So that's why the bike fell over, and that was the "air release" I'd heard!

11:25am - flat tire
Heart 0 Comment 0

I was happy the tire blowout hadn't happened while I was riding (that's always unpleasant), and also happy to be in a town, where there would be shade to fix it. I walked three blocks to the city park. What a lovely park. Clean restroom, shade, and a pop machine that dispenses 75-cents sodas! And there was a nice breeze from the southwest blowing through the pavilion. I had a Dr Pepper from the machine first, then got to work. The blowout called for a new tire and tube. I thought I had a good spare tire with me, but it turns out it was the one from my Nebraska trip that a decking screw had punched two holes in. So that spot got a dollar bill boot next to the new tube.

12:42pm - making progress on the repair
Heart 0 Comment 0

I reloaded then enjoyed another soda (and a Clif Bar) before actually leaving at 1:30pm. Noon mileage: 21.0 miles.

1:03pm - one more soda
Heart 0 Comment 0

I headed north out of Wapella on CR-1000E, which eventually turned into Autumn Road. For two miles I was on the same road I used during my Memorial Day weekend trip. But this time at the McLean County Line I continued north and west to get to Heyworth.

2:17pm - Heyworth from the south
Heart 0 Comment 0

I had a pleasant ride through town. There's a mural downtown painted by many artists that's an adaption of a hooked-rug designed and made by deceased resident Hilma Yates.

"The Depot" - a tribute to Hilma Yates
Heart 1 Comment 0
I found the side of this building interesting, also.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I headed northeast out of town at 2:45pm on roads with some curves and hills, which were giving me a workout. Started looking for a nice spot for a break in the shade. Eventually, at 3:22pm I found a spot along McLean County Highway 35 (CR-1675E). Not ideal, since the grass was tall and the tree was small, but there was a nice breeze blowing from the southwest. I see now that I was sitting next to a tributary that empties into Little Kickapoo Creek a quarter mile to the west. By 3:46pm I was well-rested and back at it.

At 3:58pm I turned onto County Highway 30 (CR-1750E), the road that has an overpass for I-74.

3:59pm - looking north toward the Bloomington Moraine
Heart 0 Comment 0

I was over I-74 and almost to my turn west onto Old Colonial Road, but once again almost out of energy. I stopped for a Clif Bar at a spot where the shade of a front yard tree had made it across the street. The owner of the house came out and offered me his yard to rest in after I explained I needed a boost to get up this last hill.

Old Colonial Road, Capodice Road, and Woodrig Road got me to US-150. A short ride on the highway brought me to the Constitution Trail near Hamilton Road at 5:00pm. Now I can relax!

Shortly down the trail across the road was a huge complex, which turns out to be State Farm. I didn't know this was here. I thought their [only] office was next to Veterans Road!

5:05pm - State Farm corporate offices on the southeast side of Bloomington
Heart 0 Comment 0
5:10pm to 5:23pm - a perfect place for one last break
Heart 0 Comment 0
5:24pm - under Hamilton Road
Heart 0 Comment 0

For the most part, the trail was easy to follow, though at a few spots I was glad I had waypoints to direct me.

5:37pm - an opportunity for a picture at Hershey Road
Heart 0 Comment 0
5:39pm - my turnoff to Bill and Laurie's neighborhood
Heart 0 Comment 0

I was back at Bill and Laurie's house at 5:48pm. Linda and Mark (another sister and brother-in-law) were there visiting, so we decided to get Monical's carryout pizza for supper. Party time!

I eventually unloaded the bike, loaded the truck, and was on my way home. My knees were in fine shape, and my hand was no worse, which had me thankful for a successful trip.

45 miles for today. 8.2 mph moving average. High 86F.
Spent: $9.67 for on-the-road snacks and Gatorade, $10.40 plus $9.60 for breakfast, and $1.50 for two cans of soda.

Jeff

************

Independence Day weekend - 138 miles total
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 45 miles (72 km)
Total: 222 miles (357 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0