Day 2 - Gibson City to Clinton Lake - Central Illinois Holiday Weekends - CycleBlaze

July 4, 2021

Day 2 - Gibson City to Clinton Lake

Day 2 - Gibson City to Clinton Lake
Heart 0 Comment 0

I woke up today at 4:56am with stiffness in my right hand middle finger. Uh oh, that's the first symptom I had on my Memorial Day weekend trip that brought that trip to an early ending. Anyway, time to get on with it. Today's destination is Clinton Lake State Recreation Area to the southwest. I'm thinking there'll be a campsite open there, since most people will want to be somewhere near where there's a fireworks show.

6:41am - packed and ready to go
Heart 0 Comment 0

First stop was Casey's to get ice, Gatorade, and Clif Bars. The ice was free since I filled it directly into my thermos. Next stop was uptown to the Blue Star Cafe for breakfast.

downtown Gibson City on an early Sunday morning
Heart 0 Comment 0

There were a few tables empty in the cafe, but I decided to sit at the counter since they had one. I couldn't find on the menu the exact combination I wanted, but the waitress figured it out for me.

breakfast at the Blue Star Cafe
Heart 0 Comment 0
Blue Star Cafe, Gibson City
Heart 0 Comment 0

Outside, after sending out an email message, I was on my way at 7:47am. Heading east put me on IL-54 for a short section. One fellow along there has a nice selection of restored tractors on display.

International Harvester, McCormick Farmall, and lots of Olivers . . .
Heart 1 Comment 0

I was going south and a little east to avoid riding on IL-47 or IL-54 south of town. I was back going west when I got to Ford County 300N Road.

8:21am - looking back northeast at Gibson City along Norfolk Southern track
Heart 0 Comment 0

I crossed and re-crossed this railroad track several times on my way to Foosland. But before that, at the corner of 300E Road and 100N Road, I came to a share library that was also being used as a mailbox for school-aged girls exchanging notes.

Heart 0 Comment 0

At 8:57am I crossed over into Champaign County. A mile south and three-quarters west brought me to Mount Hope Cemetery next to the railroad track and filled with old trees - a good place for a break!

Time for a ten minute break in the shade.
Heart 0 Comment 0
9:33am - another track crossing; telegraph lines no longer needed
Heart 0 Comment 0

At 9:44am I passed through Foosland and turned onto Champaign County Highway 29 to get to my turn west on CR-3200N toward my next town: Bellflower. There was a mulberry tree near the road just after I entered McLean County, so I took advantage of its shade for a Clif Bar/Gatorade break. It was going to be hot today, so I was taking it easy. Back riding at 10:23am.

I was hearing sirens as I approached Bellflower, and they just kept going. I started thinking something serious was going on where vehicles from neighboring areas were being called in. Later, when I arrived in town, I saw what was up: a parade! Of course, today is the 4th of July.

I actually crossed paths with the parade route at North Prairie Street, which gave me an eight minute pause - and a watermelon Jolly Rancher that landed at my feet.

10:56am - Blue Ridge High School Marching Band from Farmer City at the Bellflower 4th of July Parade
Heart 0 Comment 0
11:01am - near the end of the parade
Heart 0 Comment 0

When the parade was over, I headed out of town going west for a few miles before turning south.

11:28pm - heading south on McLean County CR-3600E
Heart 0 Comment 0

I was planning for another break at noon, but the bridge over Salt Creek provided an inviting spot with some shade at 11:42am.

11:42am to 11:53am - breaktime at Salt Creek
Heart 0 Comment 0

I crossed US-136 at 11:56am and IL-54 at noon. The noon report is 24 miles.

I entered Piatt County at 12:12pm and went east, south, and west to get to 900E Road going back south. This road would get me over I-74 and across US-150. The overpass "hill" of I-74 was more work than I'd planned on, and with the heat, I was ready for another break in the shade. Past US-150 up ahead at a curve were a few trees whose shade I could stand in if I was willing to stand in the weeds. I was willing and did for 15 minutes, drinking a lot of my ice water. Apparently, that wasn't long enough, because two and one-quarter miles later - just after turning onto 2750N Road - I was stopping again, since I was getting a little shaky. This stop was in the sun, but that couldn't be helped. Time to use everything I had to get rejuvenated: bag of peanuts, Clif Bar, bottle of Gatorade, warm water, and ice water. That took 34 minutes, but I was feeling better.

Two and one-half miles later I paused on CR-700E to look at the road ahead (CR-2700N) that I'd routed to ride. Uh . . . . . . no!

2:30pm – looking west at Piatt County CR-2700N from CR-700E (IDOT shows this as a "Gravel and Stone" road!)
Heart 0 Comment 0

Southwest was the direction I wanted to go, so I headed south to check out what turned out to be a similar road. It looked a little better, but I couldn't tell what was beyond the rise. Enough of this, a detour north would only add a mile.

I was back on my planned route (CR-2700N) at 2:55pm. After a 10 minute break in a patch of unexpected shade, I made it to DeWitt County at 3:16pm. On west and south. At 3:58pm, just before I got to Rainbow Road (DeWitt County CR-700N), I passed a mowed area with shade trees. My 10 minute nap there with a breeze blowing by was just what I needed. After that, four miles west got me to the lake.

4:44pm - Clinton Lake from DeWitt County Highway 14
Heart 0 Comment 0

Seeing all the boats got me thinking maybe I should have made a campsite reservation. I hadn't thought about everyone wanting to be here for the boating.

I was at the campground entrance at 4:50pm. Proceeding, I had no luck finding an on-duty campground host, nor any unoccupied sites after riding around a few loops. Staying at Weldon Springs State Park (13 miles away) was my back-up plan, and decided I'd need to get there. But first I needed supper. I finally noticed the bike path that paralleled the main campground road, and made my way to Boondocks Grill, the park's concession stand on the lakefront.

bicycle/walking path at Clinton Lake SRA
Heart 0 Comment 0

I parked the bike in a grove of trees and picnic tables at 5:15pm, and was sitting down to eat at 5:36pm. Grilled tenderloin, root beer, and vanilla shake - all good, especially the shake.

5:36pm - A star-spangled meal
Heart 0 Comment 0

Now I could move on. On my way out of the campground, I decided to try another loop, and was surprised to see sites B2 through B9 empty. They're no-electricity sites, which would certainly work for me - and they were only $10 a night. The full-amenity sites were $30 a night during this holiday weekend. I settled on site B7 at 6:34pm, and was all set up at 7:11pm.

Heart 0 Comment 0

I was more than glad that I wasn't on the road now heading to Weldon Springs. My right hand was still a little stiff, but my knees were fine. After 8:00pm I walked up the road to get a near-sunset picture before my 8:36pm bedtime.

8:14pm - near sunset at Clinton Lake SRA
Heart 0 Comment 0

There are no fireworks allowed in the campground, but I heard a few - not near as many as last night. Then later there was an apparently sanctioned fireworks show down by the lake that I could hear. Then quiet . . . and it was getting cooler. Nice.

54 miles for today. Moving average 7.8 mph. High 85F.
Spent: $6.48 for Clif Bars and Gatorade, $11.33 plus $5 for breakfast, $11.50 plus $8.50 for supper, and $10 for campsite.

Jeff

Today's ride: 54 miles (87 km)
Total: 177 miles (285 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0