Day 1 - Bloomington to Gibson City - Central Illinois Holiday Weekends - CycleBlaze

July 3, 2021

Day 1 - Bloomington to Gibson City

Day 1 - Bloomington to Gibson City
Heart 0 Comment 0

I started planning another three-day weekend trip, but was having trouble finding campgrounds near home that would work for a different 3-day/2-night route. While considering this, I started thinking about possibly driving and parking at a starting/ending location. Then it was, "Of course! Laurie and Bill (my sister and brother-in-law) recently moved to Bloomington." With a start from there, planning a route was easy: Bloomington to Gibson City to Clinton Lake to Bloomington.

There's a small city campground in Gibson City next to their South Park. It's set up for RV camping, but looked like it would work for tent camping.

I drove Route 150, then Northtown Road and Veterans Parkway to get to the southeast Bloomington neighborhood where Laurie and Bill are. That route was 54 minutes for me, and was a pleasant low-traffic drive. Laurie came out to greet me as I was unloading the truck. I loaded all the stuff I normally do on the bike, explaining to Laurie that the bag I was attaching was my rain gear which I wouldn't need this weekend, but being fully loaded holds everything together. When I was about done, I met Laurie and Bill's next-door neighbor, who was heading off on a morning ride. We had fun talking.

Before I started off, I received a tour of Laurie and Bill's new house. Very nice, though they are still getting resettled from basement flooding caused by record rainfall and an eleven-hour power outage the week before.

After a picture by Laurie, I was on my way at 10:02am.
Heart 0 Comment 0

A Constitution Trail Extension put me on the main Constitution Trail going east at 10:06am. My trip to Gibson City was routed on country roads and at 10:28am I texted Laurie saying I'd already found a road I liked.

10:24am - an unnamed gravel road paralleling a railroad track
Heart 0 Comment 0

Laurie texted back, "Perfect! That's definitely a Jeff-favorite type road."

Ten minutes later I was facing this.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Train goes by as I decide what to do.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I first attempted to walk to the left in the weeds. When my socks started feeling damp I turned around. I checked the map. I'd have to back-track half the miles I'd done since starting to get around this. Then I remembered I had rubber boots in my rain gear bag! The bike's wheels and my rubber boots got covered about 4 inches as I walked along. Maybe I could have ridden through . . . maybe. Anyway, I was back on my way.

I routed to pass through towns along this track, though there weren't many roads that paralleled the track up close. So I used McLean County roads CR-1025E and CR-1000E to work my way to Ellsworth. It was noon before I got there. Noon report is 11.8 miles.
 

At 12:14pm I stopped to read a historic sign in a front yard.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The owner of the house drove by as I was walking back to the bike, and she paused to talk. I pointed out that I liked the part about being at the highest point, since that's always good news for bicyclists. She smiled at that.

At 12:35pm I arrived in Ellsworth, and I was back next to the train track as I left town on CR-1150N.

12:39pm - Ellsworth
Heart 0 Comment 0
12:43pm - McLean County CR-1150N
Heart 0 Comment 0
12:58pm - the down side of no-till
Heart 0 Comment 0

When my next-to-the-track gravel road ended, I dropped back south to CR-1100E, then back north to go through Arrowsmith. I found a nice park on the east side of town.

1:33pm to 1:59pm - breaktime
Heart 0 Comment 0

While enjoying the shade I looked at my map and decided to modify my route. My new plan would save me a couple of miles, but would also have me on IL-9 for half a mile.

3:14pm - ready to get on Route 9
Heart 0 Comment 0

Route 9 was no problem, and I was shortly back on county roads. I loved the view of wild flowers looking west from CR-3900E just before I got to CR-1400N. There was an Illinois Department of Natural Resources sign at the corner, but I couldn't find a name for the place.

3:28pm - field of flowers
Heart 0 Comment 0

What was sad to see were the many flooded crop fields.

3:47pm - along CR-1400N
Heart 0 Comment 0

After skirting the county line for half a mile, I entered Ford County on 550N Road at 3:58pm. At 4:13pm I was at the intersection with 200E Road, where there were old trees, a mowed grass area, and an old water pump with windmill - perhaps the site of a long gone farmhouse. It provided a shady place to sit for a while.

4:13pm to 4:25pm - breaktime
Heart 0 Comment 0
Looking up.
Heart 0 Comment 0
4:27pm - approaching Gibson City from the northwest
Heart 0 Comment 0

Arrived in Gibson City at 4:39pm and headed south on Sangamon Avenue to get to the police department, where the camping fee can be paid. Their location is next to the impressive City Hall building.

101 East 8th Street, Gibson City
Heart 0 Comment 0

Following posted directions, I put my mask on and used hand sanitizer, but found no one inside. I proceeded on south to the campground. There are only nine camping spots, so I was hoping they weren't all taken. I arrived at the east side of the park, which is (apparently) opposite from the entrance for the campground. But that worked out, since I passed what looked like the perfect empty site - #6. I pushed the bike over the curb and was there at 5:04pm. Pay envelopes with a pay box were next to the restrooms, so that was easy.

5:43pm - all set
Heart 1 Comment 0

Before the trip I'd decided to eat supper this evening at Los Caminos, a local Mexican Restaurant located in an old Pizza Hut building. I arrived there at 6:10pm, but there was a notice posted on the door stating that they were closing at 6:30pm this evening. I went on in, and the waitress said there was still time for a carryout order. That would work, since my campsite has a picnic table. I picked out a beef burrito, toss salad, and root beer from the menu she'd handed me. They had my order ready at 6:21pm. They were closing early today to take their families to the circus.

6:33pm - supper
Heart 0 Comment 0

I sat at my picnic table facing Route 9, which was one-hundred feet away. Such a pleasant evening with great food! I took my time eating, but still wasn't able to finish it all.

8:48pm seemed like an early time to go to bed, but I was ready. There were sounds from trucks on the highway and fireworks in the nearby neighborhood, but they weren't much bother to me.

39 miles for today. Moving average 8.5 mph according to GPS. High 79F.
Spent: $10 for campsite and $14.30 plus $5 tip for supper.

Jeff

Today's ride: 39 miles (63 km)
Total: 123 miles (198 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0