Day 31 - Wapello, IA (Wapello Hotel) to Muscatine, IA (Great Rivers South Finish!) - Seeking A Bicycle Warrior's Death, Part II: The Great Rivers South - CycleBlaze

October 22, 2022

Day 31 - Wapello, IA (Wapello Hotel) to Muscatine, IA (Great Rivers South Finish!)

The Pearl Button Capital Of The World!

NOTE; You can comment on this article at the bottom of the page by clicking on the comment icon.  Likewise, you can comment on any photo by clicking on the comment icon below it. You can also "like" this entry or any photo by clicking on the heart icon.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Statistics, Useful & Otherwise;

Elevation Gained Today;  447  ft               Cumulative; 63,577  ft

Roadkill Seen Today;   Raccoon (7),  Snake (1), Possum (4), Unknown (1)     Cumulative; Hawk (3), Raccoon(38), Possum (36),  Mouse (1), Squirrel (12),   Armadillo (9), Bird (3), Coyote (1), Deer (6), Snake (22), Skunk (5), Rabbit (1), Turtle (4), Owl (1), Turkey Vulture (2), Unknown (28)

Found Money Today;  $0                          Cumulative; $1.75

Lodging Cost Today;  $0                           Cumulative; $2197.40

Bad Drivers Today;    0                                Cumulative; 13

Dog Chases Today;    0                                 Cumulative; 21

Confederate Flags Today;    0                    Cumulative; 7 (plus 30 little flags decorating confederate soldiers graves on the Natchez Trace)

Average Speed Today;  11.1 mph               Cumulative;   9.86 mph

Summary of Today's Ride; A flat and easy roll with a tailwind made for a great end to the journey.

I woke to the alarm at 06:00 and for the last time on this journey I went through my morning routine of packing everything in it's proper place in the panniers and preparing to leave.  I could have let the wife transport the panniers for me today, but I only had 24 miles to ride this morning and since I've carried them this far I figured I should carry them the rest of the way. 

Harvey was standing by in the hotel hallway outside my room, and I loaded him up and then rolled him out to the street.  There was a coffee house just catty-cornered across the street from the hotel, and I was there at 07:00 when they opened. The local crowd was there, and everybody knew everybody except for me, so they asked me the usual questions; "Where you heading today?" - "Where did you start from?" - "How long did it take to ride from New Orleans?" - "Where do you sleep at night?" - "Why would anybody ride from New Orleans to here?"  That last one is one I haven't fully answered yet, so I told them a few stories about the trip and then said "I rode all this way so I could try the breakfast at Jamie Lynn's Coffee House."  That got some laughter from the locals, and when I tried to check out the owner insisted that my breakfast was free.   I really did try to pay for it, I told her that she can't stay in business if she gives things away, but she said that I paid for it with my stories of the trip. And so I rode away from Wapello with a good feeling about the folks of small-town Iowa.

It was another perfect morning for cycling.  Great temperature, the tailwind from yesterday continued to make the riding easy, it was just one of those pleasant fall days when you appreciate being alive.  I came upon a huge flock of blackbirds feeding off of the remains of a cornfield.

A Flock of 1.3 Million Blackbirds
Heart 3 Comment 0

I estimated a bit over 1 million blackbirds in this flock - you can't see them all in this photo, they were on both sides of the road.  Do you think I'm joking?  Hey, I'm a scientist, I never kid around except for those times that I do.  But it just so happens that some of the largest flocks of blackbirds ever recorded were in nearby Arkansas and Missouri, with estimates of 10 - 40 million made by competent and trained observers.  So while my estimate of 1.3 million (made by an untrained but at least marginally competent observer) may be off by several factors, there were a lot of birds there on both sides of the road.  Here's some more info for the curious among you --> Large Blackbird Flocks.

I was anxious to complete the ride this morning, because; 1.) I told the wife I had a surprise for her that would take a little time, 2.) the wife told me she wanted to detour just a bit to go through Kansas City on our return trip so she could stop at a store she likes for Christmas stuff, and 3.) even without my surprise and the wife's shopping detour we had about 9 hours of driving to get home.  So I only took a few photos along the way, and here they are.

Today's Barn Photo
Heart 4 Comment 0
Still Following The Mississippi River Trail, A Scenic Byway
Heart 3 Comment 0
Church Along Today's Route - Note The Wind Indicated By The Flag, Fortunately It Was Favorable Today
Heart 4 Comment 0
A Little Paint And This Old Buggy Would Be A Nice Toy
Heart 3 Comment 0

As I rolled into Muscatine my path diverted to a trail along the Mississippi River levee.  It was very exciting for me to see this bridge ahead.  Last year Doc and I crossed this bridge to enter Iowa from Illinois on the Northern Tier route.

Approaching The Muscatine Bridge And The Journey's End
Heart 5 Comment 0
"American Queen," Mississippi Riverboat
Heart 5 Comment 0

As I approached the finish point of the Great Rivers South route, I saw the wife up ahead standing across the street, but she had her back to me and was looking ahead at the Mississippi River bridge.  For some reason, she thought I would be finishing coming across the bridge - not sure how she thought I was going to cross back over the Mississippi River to be coming from that direction, but I am certain that any failure of communication was my error.  I blew 4 separate blasts on my stadium air horn before she turned around to see me - it seemed humorous to me. In the photo below, I'm really pretty happy to be at the finish point.

I Made It! This Is The Same Location Doc And I Took Our "Welcome To Iowa" Photo Last Year After Crossing The Bridge From Illinois (photo credit; The Wife)
Heart 4 Comment 0
Doc And I At The Same Point Last Year - But It Was Raining!
Heart 4 Comment 0

I changed out of my riding clothes in the back of my little cargo van, then loaded Harvey for the return trip.  Then it was off to the surprise I mentioned to the wife, and we found ourselves in downtown Muscatine.

The Pearl Button Industry Was Once A Huge Economic Engine For The Great Rivers Of The South
Heart 3 Comment 0

We made a stop at the Pearl Button Museum, because, you know, we're in Muscatine and that's what you do.  It's really pretty incredible how big the pearl button industry once was - we live in an era when anything can now be fabricated from plastics, but not so long ago everything had to be made from natural materials.  So some buttons were made from wood, or from bone, but the best were made from pearl.  This short video may be of some interest to you;

I Rode Almost 1,500 Miles To Visit This Museum
Heart 4 Comment 0

At the peak of the pearl button industry, some 19,000 people were employed either making the buttons or fishing for the mussels. The Mississippi, Ohio, Tennessee, and Arkansas Rivers and their lesser tributaries were the primary mussel sources.  Entire barge-loads of mussels were caught and shipped to Muscatine. The museum has a film about a family who spent each summer gathering "clams" and made more money in the summer than they made for the entire rest of the year.  It was a way of life for many people, all made possible because of the tenacity and drive of one immigrant.

The Great Rivers Of The South Provided Huge Mussel Harvests For The Pearl Button Industry
Heart 2 Comment 0
One Of Many Specialized Button-Making Machines
Heart 1 Comment 0
We Forget That There Was A Time Before Plastics When Simple Things Like Buttons Had To Be Made From Natural Materials
Heart 4 Comment 0
Button Samples From One Of Many Muscatine Companies
Heart 3 Comment 0

I'm usually not attracted to things you find in gift shops, but how could I possibly resist the tiny bicycle below?  The wheels are made of pearl and it is mounted on a domino (numbers are on the bottom).   The wife and I buy our own gifts for Christmas exchange each year - that way she doesn't have to endure me buying some tiger-stripe pants or something like that for her (yeah, I actually did that once), and I don't have to endure another tie that I will probably just give away - so we each buy some things for ourselves that we want and give them to the other to wrap up and present as gifts.  Yeah, maybe that dilutes the surprise factor, but it works for us and saves a lot of trips to exchange unwanted items.  So I bought this little trinket to go into my Christmas gift collection for this year.  

Bicycle With Pearl Button Wheels
Heart 5 Comment 0

What a perfect little memento for this trip!  If you ride this route, you just gotta stop at the Pearl Button museum and get one of these.  I had one more thing to do, and as we were heading home we pulled through a McDonald's drive-thru and I asked about the price of a medium coffee.  It was $1.79, and since my "Found Money" fund had $1.75 I figured that was close enough - so I loaned myself $0.04 and enjoyed the celebratory coffee as we drove off into the sunset.

The Found Money Fund Celebratory Coffee
Heart 4 Comment 0

It's Sunday afternoon and I've enjoyed a lazy day of recovery.  My morning consisted of nothing more than reading the Sunday paper and drinking coffee. I've got some things to say about this route and will summarize them in an epilogue within the next day or so while things are still fresh on my mind.  I took some notes as I went along, and I'll make some suggestions that should be helpful to others who may want to take this journey - I really wish I knew beforehand some of the things I learned the hard way, so I think my thoughts may be of value to others.  My short foray into Iowa was good and for now I'll leave you with this;

Today's ride: 24 miles (39 km)
Total: 1,487 miles (2,393 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 8
Kelly IniguezCongratulations on a good finish! I've enjoyed reading along with you.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
George HallThanks Kelly! You warned me that this route was tough in several ways, and you were right. Sometime in the next few days I'm going to post some suggestions for others that I think would make it a better experience.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Mark HarrisI would say congrats old man but old men don't ride a bicycle across the country. A good friend told me that one time and I use that line when I go backpacking in the Ouachitas. Let us stay young bro, at least in our minds.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Bob DistelbergThanks for posting another great adventure. I've enjoyed following along, and will look forward to reading that final epilogue.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Wayne EstesCongratulations on completing a truly unique route. There were many opportunities for things to go wrong, but determination, good planning, and flexibility prevailed.
I enjoy tour journals through geographic and cultural regions that cyclists mostly avoid. I saw many familiar places that I have seen on past tours. And I enjoyed all the historical context you provided. This journal will be a great resource for people contemplating future tours of the Great Rivers South route.
During my 2014 Pittsburgh to Fort Worth bike tour I saw only one other touring cyclist after leaving the Great Allegheny Passage trail, in Golconda, Illinois. He was riding the entire Great Rivers South route as a small part of an epic tour from Seattle to Key West.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Judy HenryWay to go, Bud!!! Congratulations❤️
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rich FrasierThat was epic!! I really enjoyed following along!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Angela NaefI enjoyed the ride! Thanks for sharing your journey.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago