Day 70: Whitefish State Park to Eureka, MT - Seeking a Bicycle Warrior's Death, Part I: The Northern Tier - CycleBlaze

July 14, 2021

Day 70: Whitefish State Park to Eureka, MT

Wow - Are We STILL in Montana?!

(EDITING NOTE; some video added at the end)

Heart 0 Comment 0

Climbing Today; 2,158 ft                        Climbing to Date;  105, 501 ft

When I awoke in the hiker-biker section, there were now 8 tents of us for a total of 12 folks.  The park supposedly has quiet hours starting at 22:00, but kids were noisy till 22:30.  I don't think it mattered much because the train ran regularly throughout the night and it was pretty loud.  It was a good overnight camp as far as these things go, but 04:00 still seemed to come early.  I broke camp quietly as I could to not disturb my neighbors.

The jetboil quickly heated enough water for Doc and I to have coffee and oatmeal, then I packed and left and Doc followed later.  Highway 2 was variable in that it sometimes had good shoulder and sometimes did not.  The ACA route kept us off it as much as it could, but it was still a substantial part of today's ride.  The rural side roads were much more pleasant and traffic-free, and shady as well. 

Rustic Scene Near Whitefish, MT
Heart 6 Comment 0
It's Hot and Dry - That Much Is Obvious
Heart 3 Comment 0
Dickey Lake, Just One Of Many Beautiful Glacially-Carved Lakes In Montana
Heart 4 Comment 0

A skunk scurried across the road in front of me, and I gave it plenty of room.  I saw so many deer that I got bored and quit trying to photograph them.

You Lookin' At Me?
Heart 11 Comment 0

The heat has apparently dried up many of the smaller and shallower lakes.  Wildfire season this year may be even worse than the 2015 season, it is shaping up to be a bad one however you measure it.

Barnaby Lake Was Dried Up
Heart 2 Comment 0
Today's Old Building Photo
Heart 8 Comment 0
Eureka Is A Tourist Town
Heart 2 Comment 1
Steve HenryBud, I tried to cancel a comment because my phone misspelled a word and screwed up the punch line….oh well, it was a good comment and I tried to be Mark Twain-like with my observations. You inspire your followers. But the main point was that you’d better head due west or else you may find yourself having the second breakfast in Canada.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

Our hotel is good, but we do have weak internet as far as trying to upload video files.  So that will have to wait - I may be hopelessly behind on video now because I have some big files to upload and the backlog grows every day.  

OK, it's getting late for us.  Doc did the laundry today and we need to sort, pack, and get ready for tomorrow.  It's one day at a time for us now - we are going to Kookanusa resort tomorrow because we got a cheap "condo-cabin" at the last minute.  I'm not sure where we are going after that, we have a couple of options - what we don't have is time to plan our moves very carefully.  

It was 97 degrees here in Eureka today.  We only have to ride 40-ish miles tomorrow so we aren't as concerned with an early start.  Sorry, no time to crunch and upload video for today, I'm still trying to crunch recent day's videos and upload is impossible until we get decent wifi somewhere.   Good night folks...

Today's ride: 57 miles (92 km)
Total: 3,573 miles (5,750 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 0