Day 64: Conrad, MT to Cut Bank, MT - Seeking a Bicycle Warrior's Death, Part I: The Northern Tier - CycleBlaze

July 8, 2021

Day 64: Conrad, MT to Cut Bank, MT

The Wisdom of Teeth

Heart 0 Comment 1
Steve Henry Bud…..I hope your toothache has subsided. I feel so bad for you having to deal with that. Consider having it removed and recouperating in a hotel with room service for a few days.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

Climbing Today; 1,862 ft                            Climbing to Date;  96, 440 ft

My toothache became rather intense yesterday.  The kind of pain that would shut down my journey if it can't be stopped - the kind of pain that demands all your attention - the kind of pain where you can't hardly function - that kind of pain.   I took 3 ibuprofen before bed and it dulled it enough so I could fall asleep, then I took extra-strength tylenol in the middle of the night when I woke up in pain, then I changed back to ibuprofen at breakfast - you get the picture.   I woke before the alarm, because, you know - pain.  So this wasn't going to work and it could ruin my journey - it still might, by the way - but on with the story.

Doc Waited For Sunrise To Photograph This Old Cabin (photo credit; Doc)
Heart 10 Comment 0

I lost track of the number of deer I saw today.  But I didn't see any antelope.

I Saw A Lot Of Deer Today
Heart 4 Comment 0
The Little One Is Trying Hard To Keep Up With Mom In The Tall Grass
Heart 2 Comment 0

It's exciting to see the Rockies ahead of us.  If all goes well, soon we will cross the continental divide.

Rocky Mountains Ahead
Heart 4 Comment 0

Doc, riding ahead of me, scared off an animal that high-tailed it away across a large farm field - I believe it was our first coyote sighting!   Coyotes don't usually hunt foxes, but if a fox gets in a coyote's territory then the coyote will chase it away and may even prey on it.  Perhaps that was happening here, as a fox was making a getaway in the cover near the road as the coyote headed the other way.

This Fox Is Lucky We Came Along
Heart 3 Comment 0
More Wind Power In Montana
Heart 1 Comment 0
Another Interesting Old Building
Heart 5 Comment 0

The Cut Bank airport was rather small, but it had a control tower.  Being so close to Canada, I suppose there really is a need for an International Airport here.

I Thought This Was A Joke, But Not So
Heart 4 Comment 0

We are at the point where we will head into the Rocky Mountains and cross the Continental Divide at Logan's Pass.  Assuming I can control this pain, that is - otherwise I don't expect to be able to do much anything.

We Were Lucky To Get A Room In Cut Bank
Heart 3 Comment 0

I managed to get a dentist appointment for this afternoon in Cut Bank - it was very nice of them to accommodate a cycle tourist with an emergency need.  My pain level was intense, but it was difficult to locate the right tooth causing it - I think that it was so intense that I just couldn't pick the particular spot.  They tried several tests to find it and took several x-rays, still no luck in pinpointing it.  Finally, by feeling around my jaw, I was able to find a sore spot and we zoomed in on the likely culprit.  I had 5 wisdom teeth (lucky me) and 4 had been removed - the one on the lower left side still remains hidden beneath the gum.  But a small bit of it had become exposed, and the thought is that it is infected.  The tooth eventually needs to be extracted, but it's a job for an oral surgeon and I will require a few days of recovery with little to no physical exercise, so it needs to be postponed until I finish this trip.   So Dr. Lowery skillfully rinsed the exposed area with an antibiotic solution, then gave me prescriptions for an antibiotic and hydrocodone to deal with the pain at night.  Lastly, and most importantly to me at the time, he injected me with a blocker that almost immediately blocked the pain.  If the wisdom tooth is indeed the culprit, then the antibiotic should do the trick in a couple of days and I will be able to finish the journey. 

The pain blocker only lasted for about 2 hours, but that was long enough to let me eat a bit.  Doc was a great asset and had the prescriptions filled and also got some salt for me to use as a salt water rinse twice daily.    I've had 2 hydrocodone pills tonight so I can function and write this journal and prepare for tomorrow.  I plan to continue riding.  I will be taking a combination of hydrocodone (mainly at night), then alternating ibuprofen and tylenol during the day.  I'm going to be dealing with the pain for another 2-3 days, at which time the antibiotic will have hopefully handled the infection which we THINK is the source of the problem.  If it doesn't work, then I will be looking for some way to get home.  Of all the challenges I listed at the beginning of this journal, I never expected a toothache to be the thing that possibly prevents me from finishing.  

The wisdom of wisdom teeth is that you never realize how good it feels to be "normal" until you are suffering from pain.   Normal is a great thing, I hope to be back to normal soon.   I sincerely hope that you are all able to maintain a state of normality in your own lives.  Good night all, the hydrocodone seems to be making me a bit sleepy - if you need something to help you sleep, the usual video should cure your insomnia...

Today's ride: 56 miles (90 km)
Total: 3,363 miles (5,412 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Kelly IniguezDental pain is exquisite, in a very bad way. My total sympathies to you.

I hope the AM brings improvement.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
George HallKelly;

Thanks - FWIW, I think that I am improving - it may be a bit early to say so (only 1 day after starting the antibiotic), but the pain has subsided this afternoon. I'm enjoying your journal, best of luck,

Buddy Hall
Reply to this comment
2 years ago