Day 56: Glendive, MT to Circle, MT - Seeking a Bicycle Warrior's Death, Part I: The Northern Tier - CycleBlaze

June 30, 2021

Day 56: Glendive, MT to Circle, MT

Running Towards The Heat

Heart 0 Comment 0

Climbing Today; 1,629 ft            Climbing to Date;  83,257 ft

I left the hotel at 05:45 this morn, Doc left shortly later.  The morning was cool but we knew the heat was coming.

Montana Scenery
Heart 5 Comment 0

The only stop between Glendive and Circle was the little town of Lindsay, which had a symbol on the map indicating that it had a convenience store.

Today's Old Barn Pic
Heart 8 Comment 0

It did indeed have a store, but instead of the second breakfast we hoped for, the only food items it had were cold drinks and candy bars.  So I bought a tea and butterfinger and rolled on.  

If I Only Had A Pen
Heart 5 Comment 0

A crop duster was busy spraying some crops, and I stopped to photograph the action.

Crop Duster Action
Heart 5 Comment 0
Crop Duster Action
Heart 5 Comment 0
Crop Duster Action
Heart 2 Comment 0

Due to the early start and relatively short day, plus generally favorable wind (light quartering rear wind), I was able to push on to Circle by noon.

Montana Farm Scene
Heart 7 Comment 0
Montana Badlands Terrain
Heart 7 Comment 0

It was going to get hot; by noon it was 91 degrees, but we made it before the afternoon intense heat.  At the convenience store I saw a loaded touring bike parked outside, and I knew from comments received that it likely belonged to Robert Ferrari.  So I went inside and met him, then Doc arrived and we were all outside chatting when 2 tourists on a tandem pulled in!  And that's how we met Kevin and his daughter Abby.

Kevin and Abby
Heart 5 Comment 0

Doc and I were doing some look-ahead planning today.  Tomorrow was going to be a rest day, but the winds the next 2 days are at least slightly favorable to us, and the winds on the 3rd day are very unfavorable.  So it would be best to push on for 2 more days.  Additionally, Doc wants to get home as soon as he can to get ready for his return to work and to help out with some family matters, so he wants to forego rest days as much as possible.  Anyway, we aren't resting tomorrow.  In fact the next 2 days are going to be long days with lots of climbing (3,000 - 4,000 feet for me) and intense heat, so they will be very tough days.  Doc plans to break up the 2nd day into 2 shorter ones; I hope to be able to do the 2 longer days and then take a rest day while Doc catches up.  But - there's always a but - I can't confirm lodging arrangements for days 2 and 3 - I've left a message at the only hotel that exists in Winnett and am hoping they return my call - and it would sure be nice to take our rest day inside with A/C when the temperature is soaring above 100 degrees.  So as usual there are a lot of unknowns and caveats to our immediate future.  

All I know for certain is that I am moving ahead the next 2 days - I'm not yet sure how far ahead I will get on Day 2, but I will move ahead.  I hope you all move at least a little ahead in the next 2 days as well.  Good night all, we have lots to do to prep for an early start in the morning - video follows as usual...

Today's ride: 50 miles (80 km)
Total: 2,932 miles (4,719 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Jeanna & Kerry SmithWe got your note when we arrived at the Comfort Inn today. What a nice surprise! We were also really disappointed that we missed you and Doc. We had high hopes that it was going to work out. I hope you enjoy the rest of your trip and stay safe and well. If you ever get to Florida in the winter, please get in touch!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago