Day 55: Buffalo Gap Campground, ND to Glendive, MT - Seeking a Bicycle Warrior's Death, Part I: The Northern Tier - CycleBlaze

June 29, 2021

Day 55: Buffalo Gap Campground, ND to Glendive, MT

Big Sky Country!

Heart 0 Comment 0

Climbing Today; 1,636 ft        Climbing to Date; 81,638 ft

Buffalo Gap campground was a great place.  We had showers and a nice camp site for $10 with my Golden Age Pass discount.  It got cool last night, about the limit that my summer sleeping bag and thermal liner could handle - but I was warm and snug all night.  We boiled water using the Jetboil stove and had oatmeal and coffee before leaving camp.

Near Buffalo Gap Campground
Heart 7 Comment 0

I rolled into Sentinel Butte ahead of Doc, who left camp after me.  I had an orange juice at the little store and chatted several minutes with the owner and a customer.  They get quite a few cyclists stopping in and appreciated the business.

Approaching Sentinel Butte, ND
Heart 5 Comment 0

The historical signs around this area seem to have a bit of bias with regards to the native Americans fighting back.

Hmmm... The Indians Fought Back
Heart 2 Comment 0

We found a cafe in Beach, ND and had a sit-down second breakfast.

Approaching Beach, ND
Heart 3 Comment 0
Old Structure On The Prairie
Heart 4 Comment 0

Once we hopped back on I-94 it was only a few miles to the Montana sign.  This is pretty exciting for us - North Dakota is a very big state and it has taken us 7 1/2 days to roll through it.  We got a little taste of the High Plains in North Dakota and we are now anxious for the main course in Montana.  We are respectful of the awesome challenge that the wind and heat can bring here, so we are a bit frightened as well - but mostly we are just anxious to dive into Montana!

Big Sky Country!
Heart 7 Comment 0
A Rest Area That Takes Questions? OK, then, who wrote the book of love?
Heart 2 Comment 0

We rode a parallel road to I-94 for about 11 miles and only 1 car passed by.  And there was only 1 shade from a roadside tree in that entire 11-mile stretch.

Secluded Ranch Nestled In A Valley Near Wibaux, MT
Heart 2 Comment 0

Our route put us back on I-94 to finish up the trip into Glendive.  Riding on the shoulder of I-94 is actually pretty good, but there is absolutely no shade anywhere.

I Kept My Speed Under The Limit
Heart 2 Comment 0
Badlands Scenery Near Glendive, MT
Heart 6 Comment 0

After a back-and-forth consisting of 4 phone calls, I finally have us a room for the next 2 nights in Circle, MT.  At least, I think I do.  They didn't want a credit card to guarantee it, so I insisted they write down my name.  It's a long story, some of which is told in today's video.  

OK, that's it for now - we are hungry and heading for Penny's Diner next door.  Our first day in Montana was great - we actually had tailwinds for part of the day.  It got hot, but not brutally so - not yet anyway, but it's coming.  Good night all, today's exciting video follows...

Today's ride: 59 miles (95 km)
Total: 2,882 miles (4,638 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Barry UretskyGeorge and Andy,

I'm rooting for you!!

Barry Uretsky
Reply to this comment
2 years ago