The bike - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

The bike

I like the peace of mind of a purpose-built touring bike that is made for reliability. I’ve had the Koga World Traveller for about a year. The main benefits are that it has a 14 speed Rohloff hub with a Gates Belt Drive.

I hope the belt will not need replacing on this trip. I’ve read reviews of the belt lasting 20,000-30,000kms.

The front hub is a SON 28 dyno. It powers the front and rear lights. I have an Appcon 3000 device which will take power from the hub and then transfer it into my phone and SPOT X. It takes a long time to charge, yet it means I am not reliant on staying in towns for power.

I have a 22 tooth rear sprocket (was 19) and a 46 tooth front chainring (was 50).

I’ve got a well-worn Brooks B17 saddle that should keep me comfortable for the entire trip.

Tyres are Schwalbe Marathon Plus Tour 28 x 1.75.

Naked bike = 20kgs
Heart 2 Comment 0
Gomer + bike + Yoshi. The fully loaded bike = 45kgs
Heart 6 Comment 0
Front view
Heart 6 Comment 0
Rear view
Heart 6 Comment 0

Naked bike = 20kgs. 

Loaded bike (no food/water) = 39kgs. 

Most days I will have 4ltrs of water, + 2kgs of food = 6kgs. 

So gear + food/water = 25kgs

Vince (before breakfast) = 105kgs.

Bike + food/water + Vince = 150kgs.

I have the capacity to carry a further 12ltrs(kgs) of water for the more remote areas.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 13
Comment on this entry Comment 0