Day 97: Pinnarendi Station to Mount Surprise - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

May 18, 2021

Day 97: Pinnarendi Station to Mount Surprise

Start: 8:00am
Distance: 73kms
Ride time: 3:23hrs
Average: 22km/hr
Max: 41km/hr 
Finish: 12:45pm

Yesterday, Nadine the nice owner had told me that 2 cyclists had booked to stay with her tonight. They were coming from Mt Surprise. I would cross paths with them today. 

To pass on my good bike karma from the generous gift I received the other day, I paid Nadine for the 2 cyclists to have dinner at her place.

It was to be a surprise for them when they arrived. I wasn't going to tell them.

The morning started off cool and overcast. This is Forty Mile Scrub National Park.
Heart 3 Comment 0

Then the clouds began to disperse and the sun came out.

Heading west in the morning sun.
Heart 3 Comment 0

It feels awesome to be heading west. I had to go a bit south west from Cairns to get over The Great Divide.

I saw 4 emus in the distance.

I managed to get this pic of one running away from me into the scrub.
Heart 5 Comment 0
This enormous truck was at a rest stop. The nice driver let me take the pic.
Heart 5 Comment 0

He was carting zinc ore to Mount Garnet to be refined. 

I am now on the Gulf Development Road or Savannah Way.
Heart 5 Comment 0

This is now entering remote country. There are no cafes or servos in between the small towns.

There is a reduced amount of traffic with maybe one car every five minutes.

I like these roads. I can focus on the nature more and the traffic less.

I saw 2 different types of colourful parrots. They had green, red and blue feathers. 

Here is a silhouette of a couple black cockatoos. They were making gentle soft screeching noises.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Floppy eared cows are cute.
Heart 3 Comment 2
Veronica JoinerI think they are young Brahman cattle. I love their floppy ears too.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyYes, you're correct.
One GOLD star to you ⭐
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

I also got to enjoy some tunes today. I was listening to the Triple J Hottest 100 of 1995.

Road pic.
Heart 4 Comment 0

I had a strong tailwind for most of today. I was cycling easily at 25km/hr. Sometimes even faster in top gear.

Crossing Elizabeth Creek. This is the only Creek I crossed today.
Heart 3 Comment 0
A town marker. It says Mount Surprise. Jewel of a town.
Heart 5 Comment 0

I think gems are found here. There is a black cockatoo statue on the top of the marker.

This tiny town is today's destination. 

I went in to one shop that had mostly bare shelves.

When I came out I saw this little bug and I picked him up.
Heart 4 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltGreat macro! Agreed with your ID. You are doing great with nature shots and IDs!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyThank you Bill.
It's a lot easier when the subjects stay still for the pic.

I've only recently discovered Google Lense and that has been useful sometimes with IDs.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

It's a Hibiscus Harlequin bug.

I checked into the Bedrock Village.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Staff use these bikes to show people to their camping sites.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Lots of shade and vegetation for $28.
Heart 3 Comment 0
These apostle birds were squawking about in the grass.
Heart 2 Comment 0
There were heaps of these common crow butterflies.
Heart 3 Comment 0

Common crow butterfly

All day I was excited about meeting the other cyclists but unfortunately I didn't see them. There are no alternate roads. I don't know what could have happened.

There is a very nice cafe at this campground with a few local made foods.

Including this nice vanilla slice I had for afternoon tea.
Heart 5 Comment 0

I don't know how but the 2 cyclists did make it to Pinnarendi Station without us crossing paths.

Nadine sent me a pic of Bob and Bruce enjoying their free dinner.
Heart 5 Comment 4
Deleted AccountThat's so good that u passed that on Vince. Av speed of 22kph - mate that's flying!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Annie O'SheaWhat a lovely gesture to keep the good vibes going, I bet those had a big surprise.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyI corresponded with them via email.
They were grateful.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyI felt like I was on an electric bike zooming along with the wind.

The wind was the same today but I didn't ride. I hope it continues tomorrow. 🤞🏻
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

Good bike karma success.

Today's ride: 73 km (45 miles)
Total: 4,276 km (2,655 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Rita McCarthyLots of great pics, Vince. Very impressed with how far you rode. The cockatoos always reminds me of a spot we had in WA near Harvey, they seem to be squawking consequently. Still it was a great spot.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyThank you Aunty Rita.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago