Day 79: Ingham to Cardwell - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

April 30, 2021

Day 79: Ingham to Cardwell

Start: 8:30am
Distance: 62kms
Ride time: 3:22hrs
Average: 18km/hr
Max: 57km/hr 
Finish: 2pm

It rained most of the night and had stopped by morning. 

I was very impressed with the food I got yesterday at JK's Delicatessen that I went back there this morning for breakfast. 

This is called their small breakfast.
Heart 6 Comment 0

After breakfast I was looking in their shop for a snack for later in the day.

I spoke to John who helped me decide on 4 different cheeses (after tasting all of them), home made olives, and home made almond biscuits.

John was a jovial and friendly guy.
Heart 8 Comment 0

Next to the shop was an alley way with some artwork and mosaics:

Italian women in the cane fields.
Heart 7 Comment 0
Italian men in the cane fields.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Crossing Herbert River.
Heart 3 Comment 0

After a while I entered the Girringun National Park and began to climb the Dalrymple Gap. It's about 100 metres in elevation. 

The side road took me to a good lookout.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Hinchinbrook Island is in the background with it's peaks covered in cloud.
Heart 7 Comment 0

Hinchinbrook Island is a National Park and is the biggest island on the Great Barrier Reef. 

It had been an overcast morning and the sun came out while I was admiring the view so I put on sunscreen. 

This induced the weather gods to make it rain for an hour.

I was hoping to set a speed record going down the hill but it was an easier gradient and I could only get to 57kms/hr.

Heart 0 Comment 1
Annie O'SheaMost cassowary are alright but stay away from their nest and babies
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

Wiki says the Cassowary is the world's most dangerous bird. I hope I get to see one!

Today's road pic.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I got several waves today. Maybe I got more because it was raining? Anyway, I'm happy to receive them all!

I made it to Cardwell and went to the information centre which also had a small museum of random things.

This is a wooden Olympics torch used for practice in 1956.
Heart 3 Comment 0

The sunshine came out to greet me when I arrived in Cardwell. 

This is Bagu on the Foreshore. This was made by the local Girramay Traditional Owners.
Heart 7 Comment 2
Annie O'Sheajust because you don't see the cross doesn't mean their not there so be careful
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

There were a few crocodile warning signs along the beach. I looked for crocodiles but didn't see any.

A view of Hinchinbrook Island from the jetty.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Looking back towards Cardwell.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I checked into the Cardwell Beachcomber Tourist Park. 

$45! Only powered sites available.
Heart 2 Comment 0
My afternoon snack from John.
Heart 6 Comment 0

Last night my phone displayed the moisture warning again and it didn't go away. Very annoying!

This afternoon I made 5 phone calls to Jarrod from Precision Phone Repairs in 
Townsville. 

He was very generous with his time while he tried to trouble shoot a solution. Each phone call we became closer to fixing it.

After many unsuccessful attempts he suggested using some electrical cleaning solvent on the charging port.

I'll try this when I get to a bigger town.

Today's ride: 62 km (39 miles)
Total: 3,670 km (2,279 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Lednar De NallohI've heard if you get moisture in the phone put it in a bag with rice, maybe worth a try. It's a bit of a rip off when the caravan parks charge for the site, not individual and you pay as much as a couple.
Happy pedalling
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyHi Lednar, thank you for the tip but my phone isn't wet at all. It just falsely displays the moisture warning symbol. I'll take it to a phone repair shop when I get to Cairns.

It's definitely a bit of a rip off what some caravan parks charge. I know when I go across the 'top end' things should get a lot cheaper so all is good.
Cheers
Reply to this comment
2 years ago