Day 69: Guthalungra to Ayr - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

April 24, 2021

Day 69: Guthalungra to Ayr

Start: 7:50am
Distance: 76kms
Ride time: 3:41hrs
Average: 21km/hr
Max: 34km/hr 
Finish: 1:10pm

I was happy that I didn't hear any trains or highway noise until 5am. It rained a little overnight. It was a good rest area.

This morning's road pic.
Heart 2 Comment 0

A farm was selling produce by the side of the highway and had these big things:

Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 0

Some street art in Home Hill:

Cane farmers used to burn the cane prior to harvest.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Signed N. Bidju Pryor
Heart 5 Comment 0

Leaving Home Hill I had to cross the Burdekin River.

The bridge was a few hundred metres long and it was narrow with no shoulder.

There was a foot path on the side of the bridge so I decided to take it. I usually just stay on the road but I thought I would be nice to the traffic today.

I had to walk down some steps to get onto the footpath.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Burdekin River.
Heart 5 Comment 0

I made it about a third of the way across and then I saw my worst nightmare. 

There were several large orb weaver spiders and their webs across the path!
Heart 2 Comment 3
Sandra LawnScary spiders!
Yep I would’ve turned my bike around as well, never mind the steps
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Cheryl IvesLindsay said that they are only small, wait until you see the ones in Darwin!
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Vince McCarthyI'm not keen to see spiders that are any bigger. Thank you Lindsay!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

If one of those spiders touched me I would freak out! OMG!

I lifted up my bike and turned it around and went back to the start, up the steps, then rode across the bridge on the road.

I didn't care about delaying the traffic when crossing the bridge, as long as I didn't die from a spider panic attack. A lucky escape.

These friendlier guys were on the edge of Ayr:

Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0

Some big machines for sale in Ayr:

Sugar cane harvester.
Heart 3 Comment 0
8RX 340
Heart 2 Comment 0

I had a good day on the bike today. It was overcast with occasional light rain. Not too hot with a small tailwind. 

I got waves from two trains today! Plus other cars and trucks.

I went to the Ayr Nature Display. It is one man's collection of Australian bugs and things from about the 1950's.

Hercules Moth. The border is regular sized moths and the word 'female' is made from beatles.
Heart 5 Comment 0

The Hercules Moth can have a wingspan span of 27cm. The largest in Australia. 

Cairns birdwing butterfly.
Heart 6 Comment 1
Kerrie McCarthyAwesome colour
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

Cairns birdwing butterfly

These birds are made from butterflies and moths.
Heart 3 Comment 0
This map of Australia is made from 3,860 beatles.
Heart 5 Comment 0

There were thousands of shells and a few crabs and things but they didn't photograph well because of the glass display cases.

On the way into town, I saw a sign for a car and bike show this Friday to Sunday at the showgrounds.

I rode out to the showgrounds and only saw these two cars. There were no people anywhere.
Heart 5 Comment 0

I later found out the show was cancelled due to the wet weather.

Ayr Post Office.
Heart 2 Comment 0

I checked in to the Burdekin Cascades Caravan Park. 

A nice grassy site for $22. It was next to the camp kitchen.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Basic but everything I needed.
Heart 3 Comment 0

Today's ride: 76 km (47 miles)
Total: 3,332 km (2,069 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Dave ErtelThanks for the camp kitchen photo. When we rode across Oz in 2010 we found them great places to connect with fellow travelers. Perhaps Covid has reduced traveler numbers? Are you finding the kitchens social places?
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Vince McCarthyHi Dave,

Congrats on your ride across Oz!

There are definitely less international people in the campgrounds and more Aussies. I haven't had trouble finding a spot to camp so maybe they are quieter than usual? It's a bit hard for me to judge.

I find the camp kitchen are social places. I think being on the bike is more of a conversation starter. People come up to me every day, at servos, shops, in the street.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago