Day 70: Ayr to Townsville - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

April 25, 2021

Day 70: Ayr to Townsville

Start: 6:30am
Distance: 103kms
Ride time: 5:38hrs
Average: 18km/hr
Max: 41km/hr 
Finish: 1:40pm

I started early for a big day ahead.

Ayr was surrounded by kilometres and kilometres of sugar cane.
Heart 3 Comment 2
Frank DenmanOnly tiny spiders looks like they were out of focus a bit were you shaking when yo took the pic ? Watch out for the big ones up the cape xxx
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyHi Frank,

The spiders seemed big enough for me! I'm not keen to meet any bigger ones.

Cheers
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Crossing Didgeridoo Lagoon.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Young corn in the foreground with cloud covered hills in the background.
Heart 3 Comment 0
The clouds parted as I got closer.
Heart 1 Comment 0
I really liked the contrast of the light coloured tree trunks against the bright green grass.
Heart 5 Comment 2
Deleted AccountI agree Vince, a beautiful photo
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyThank you Andrew.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Crossing Emmett Creek.
Heart 3 Comment 0

Today was another good day for cycling. Cloudy with occasional light rain. I sometimes had a small tailwind too.

As I began to cross Haughton River, some movement on the bank caught my eye. Two small crocodiles were scared by all my fluoro and dashed into the water for safety.

I was very happy to see crocodiles in the wild!

They moved too fast for me to get a photo.

I made it to Townsville and most shops were closed for ANZAC Day.

I checked in to Rowes Bay Beachfront Holiday Park. 

$32.
Heart 3 Comment 0

I had ridden 94kms to get to Townsville and I wanted to make it 100kms, so I went for a ride along the beach in the rain.

Magnetic Island is in the background under clouds.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Some barramundi on rocks.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Not much beach here.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Here's a nicer beach with netting to stop the stingers.
Heart 3 Comment 0
This seaside cafe was open and I got a large caramel milkshake to celebrate 100kms!
Heart 6 Comment 0
My dinner tonight was roast veggies and smoked salmon. Yum.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Another basic camp kitchen that has a fridge, microwave, BBQ, and hot plates.
Heart 5 Comment 0

Today's ride: 103 km (64 miles)
Total: 3,435 km (2,133 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0