Day 68: Bowen to Guthalungra - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

April 23, 2021

Day 68: Bowen to Guthalungra

Start: 7:45am
Distance: 53kms
Ride time: 2:59hrs
Average: 18km/hr
Max: 30km/hr 
Finish: 1:30pm

It rained a little during the night so I packed up a wet tent.

Today's drama was my Samsung phone not working properly. An alert was activated saying my phone charging port was wet. Therefore it prevented me from charging my phone with a cord. 

The charging port is dry and I cleaned it with my toothbrush too. But still the alert was displayed. 

The phone is less than a year old so it shouldn't be faulty. It caused me some stress.

Luckily, there was a Kmart store in Bowen and I bought a wireless charger. This charges the phone just by placing it on top. There is no cord. 

This can charge my phone but it takes 4 hours.

It was raining when I left Bowen. 

I wasn't sure if there would be water at the rest stop I wanted to stay at tonight so I departed with 10 litres of water on my bike.

A mango orchard on the outskirts of Bowen.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Don River.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Cloud covered hills.
Heart 2 Comment 0
I haven't seen many cattle farms lately. It has all been sugar cane.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Euri River.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Due to the wet weather, I rode today's distance with no rest stops. I was saturated and wanted to keep moving to stay warm.

I arrived at Guthalungra rest stop in good time.

My digs for the night. Free!
Heart 5 Comment 0

I was very happy to have a table with shelter from the rain.

There is also water here and a small servo across the road.

It's a busy rest stop with 7 other campers looking like they stayed here last night and were going to stay tonight too.

As soon as I arrived I put on dry clothes and felt much better. I bought some milk from the servo and made a nice hot chocolate to help warm me.

I spoke to a phone repair shop in Townsville. He said it is a common problem and he can repair it. I plan to be in Townsville on Sunday night and will get the phone fixed on Monday. Phew!

I spent the arvo trying to stay dry and reading my latest book.
Heart 6 Comment 0

Today's ride: 53 km (33 miles)
Total: 3,256 km (2,022 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0