Day 67: Airlie Beach to Bowen - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

April 22, 2021

Day 67: Airlie Beach to Bowen

Start: 6:50am
Distance: 87kms
Ride time: 4:55hrs
Average: 18km/hr
Max: 39km/hr 
Finish: 1:30pm

A little colour in this morning's sunrise.
Heart 4 Comment 0
I was impressed with this creative topiary.
Heart 1 Comment 0

The weather started off with some light drizzle and no wind. I was happy as it meant I didn't have to put on sunscreen.

My daily annoyance is sunscreen. It's greasy and attracts dirt. I guess I'm pretty lucky if that is the worst part of my day.

Today was a good day.

I came to some roadworks and the stop/go man stopped both ends of traffic so I could get through. Very helpful.

I got lots of waves and toots of support today. From motorbikes, cars, and trucks. 

Most excitingly was encouragement from a train. The train tracks were about 20 metres from the road. The train driver gave me a big wave and blasted his horn. Wahoo!

Crossing 10 Mile Creek.
Heart 1 Comment 0
It would be cool to have a big flag like this on my bike.
Heart 9 Comment 0
The Big Mango in Bowen.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Kenny, the Kensington Pride Mango Man.I don't know why he is holding fishing gear?
Heart 6 Comment 0
Enjoying some healthy mango sorbet made from 100% mango.
Heart 5 Comment 0
A big pile of salt at Bowen's Saltworks.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I arrived in Bowen at lunchtime so I had a delicious big breakfast and a big coffee.
Heart 5 Comment 0

It started to rain so I took my time in the dry and comfortable cafe.

I had to wipe my seat down before I left because there was a small puddle of water from my wet clothes.

The first caravan park I tried to stay at rejected me because they don't accept tents. This is tent discrimination!

I then went to the Bowen Beach front Holiday Park. 

I got a small discount from $44 to $39.70 because I'm in the NRMA.

The kind lady in this Winnebago offered for me to erect my tent under her awning because it was raining.
Heart 5 Comment 0

I'm not very keen to be that close to another camper so I politely declined. 

Caravan park pool.
Heart 3 Comment 0
View from the caravan park.
Heart 3 Comment 0

Today's ride: 87 km (54 miles)
Total: 3,203 km (1,989 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0