Day 39: Boreen Point to Tin Can Bay - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

March 25, 2021

Day 39: Boreen Point to Tin Can Bay

Start: 7:40am
Distance: 85kms
Ride time: 5:31hrs
Average: 15km/hr
Max: 55km/hr 
Finish: 2:40pm

I was woken during the middle of the night by rustling sounds.

This cheeky possum was munching on my apples.
Heart 10 Comment 1
Rachael AndersonGreat photo and story!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

I tried to shoo him away but he wasn't keen to leave. I rolled an apple along the ground and he chased after it like a puppy chasing a ball. Then he ran away into the darkness with it.

I guess it was my fault as I hadn't secured the top of the pannier. After this incident I put my food panniers inside my tent. 

I slept well as my mattress didn't deflate at all. I had thought there was a hole somewhere but I was way wrong. It was my fault all along. The valve on the mattress isn't a simple valve and I just wasn't closing it properly.

I feel like a fool but I'm happy the mattress works as intended. It is very comfy and I would recommend it especially as it's so compact and lightweight. 

Morning pic of Lake Cootharaba.
Heart 7 Comment 0
The road leaving Boreen Point.
Heart 2 Comment 0

I took the 'back way' to Tin Can Bay. It meant few road signs and some uncertainty. I took a wrong turn that only cost me 3kms.

After a while I hit a patch of dirt and a hill climb.
Heart 4 Comment 0

The dirt road was only about 5kms long.

Then I saw a yabbie sculpture at a yabbie farm. Unfortunately it wasn't open to the public.
Heart 7 Comment 0

I used to catch yabbies when I was a whipper snapper.

Down the road a bit was a tough looking kangaroo mailbox.
Heart 6 Comment 0

I had trouble yesterday working out the distance to Tin Can Bay. I thought it was 50kms. 

The map I had wasn't very detailed and google maps was no help. 

I had already done 30kms this morning and then I saw a sign saying it was still another 50kms to go. I didn't cater enough water for this distance.

Luckily I saw this rain water tank at a roadside plant stall so I was able to get more water.
Heart 4 Comment 0
The bitumen finished and I was on the dirt again.
Heart 2 Comment 0
After I had ridden about 20kms on a very rough road surface, I came across a grader.
Heart 3 Comment 0
If only they had started a few days earlier and had graded the whole road for me.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Soon after that I turned on to the main road and lots of traffic.
Heart 2 Comment 0

The whole area is a big pine plantation. I think it went on for about 40kms.

Eventually I made it to Tin Can Bay. 

Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Tin Can Bay Tourist Park. $33.My tent is in the shade of the tree.
Heart 2 Comment 0
I had dinner overlooking the bay at sunset.
Heart 5 Comment 0

Today's ride: 85 km (53 miles)
Total: 1,923 km (1,194 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 0