Day 38: Coolum Beach to Boreen Point - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

March 24, 2021

Day 38: Coolum Beach to Boreen Point

Start: 8am
Distance: 49kms
Ride time: 3:14hrs
Average: 15km/hr
Max: 54km/hr 
Finish: 1:45pm

There was a small amount of rain during the night. It was great to wake up to an overcast day with no rain clouds. 

It was a hilly ride between Coolum Beach and Noosa. It didn't take long for me to be saturated in sweat. 

I went in to one shop and the lady asked me what had I been doing to look the way I did. Hehehe.

I must look like absolute trash some times. I just pretend like there's nothing unusual about it and laugh internally at people's reactions.

Heart 2 Comment 0
Im looking forward to seeing koalas in Noosa.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Noosa Heads Main Beach.
Heart 4 Comment 0
I had a coffee in Noosa and then went for a walk along the Heads.
Heart 6 Comment 0
This is Tea Tree Bay. It's difficult to see in this pic yet I counted 24 surfers waiting on the same break.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Surfing rules.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I walked a little further to Dolphin Point and didn't see any dolphins. 

There used to be koalas on this walk. The information centre lady said unfortunately they hadn't been seen in a long time. I was a little disappointed. 

I still have a long way to go on this trip. I'm sure I'll see wild koalas at another time.

This guy was in Noosaville.
Heart 5 Comment 0
When I left Noosa and surrounds, the road looked like this and it became less hilly.
Heart 1 Comment 0
I arrived at Boreen Point. It's right on the edge of Lake Cootharaba.
Heart 4 Comment 0

I had asked the receptionist about the road to Tin Can Bay (tomorrow's destination) earlier and she told me which roads to take.

While I was away from my campsite, she had left me a map with the roads highlighted. Very kind of her.

$33.
Heart 4 Comment 0

This is a good park for tents. There are heaps of trees everywhere providing lots of shade.

Today's ride: 49 km (30 miles)
Total: 1,838 km (1,141 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Rachael AndersonI got behind reading your journal and just got caught up. Sorry you’ve had such bad weather but I’m glad to see you finally got some good weather!
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Vince McCarthyThank you Rachel.
It is nice waking up to a dry day even though it's a little hotter.

I've just started reading your huge Winterlude 2020. Looking good.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago